Top of the Bench winner

01 April 2010

A team from North Halifax Grammar School, won this year's Top of the Bench competition, held at Loughborough University on 27 March.

Peter Richardson, Hannah Speed, James Nevison and Emily Whettlock were presented with the Frank Halliwell Trophy by Professor Peter Warwick, Head of Chemistry at Loughborough. 

The winning team members each received gift tokens and 500 for their school to spend on scientific equipment. 

The runners-up were Benjamin Muller, James Lavers, James Page and Alexander Locke from Northgate Grammar School, Dereham in Norfolk. 

This year's Jacqui Clee award for the most outstanding contribution to the competition was awarded to Kimberley Spoors from Egglescliffe School.

The competition is jointly organised by the Royal Society of Chemistry and Loughborough University and tests students' knowledge of chemistry through written and practical exercises.

Contact and Further Information

Press Office