RSC - Advancing the Chemical Sciences

Science Activities


2014 AkzoNobel UK Science Award

AkzoNobel Tomorrow's Answers Today
The 2014 AkzoNobel UK Science Award will be presented to an individual in recognition of outstanding scientific contributions in the fields of chemistry and materials sciences.  

The individual will have accomplished significant advances in one or more of the areas described below under Scientific Scope, and his/her findings should have proven, or show promise in leading to, significant sustainable, societal and/or user benefits.

The winner will receive an award of 50,000.

2012 Winner

Prof. Peter Bruce FRS, FRSE, FRSC

AkzoNobel UK Science Award 2012 Winner

Professor Peter Bruce FRS FRSE FRSC, University of St Andrews, Scotland

Scientific Scope

Guided by the principles and practices of sustainable chemistry, the AkzoNobel UK Science Award is made for scientific research in any of the following fields of the chemical or materials sciences: 

  • The design and development of new chemical and biochemical methods for the synthesis and transformation of molecules (including small organic and inorganic molecules, oligomers and polymers); methods for their assembly into macromolecular structures; the modification and functionalization of polymers; and the understanding and control of the composition, architecture, stereochemistry and functionality of macromolecular systems. 
  • Understanding of the micro- and nano-structures of materials which determine their morphological, mechanical, thermal, electronic, optical and transport properties; and the design, creation and processing of complex fluids and 'soft' solids derived from an understanding of the colloid science, rheology and molecular associations of the systems involved.
  • The translation of chemical- and bio-transformations from the laboratory bench scale into production-scale processes; and the development and optimization of unit operations such as mixing, dispersion, emulsification, separation, purification as well as methods for modelling and controlling unit operations and overall processes.
  • The development and use of physical, chemical, and biological techniques, models, and methods to characterize and understand the composition, structure and performance of materials, chemical products and processes. 

Panel Membership

AkzoNobel UK Science Award Committee

  • Professor L Yellowlees MBE FRSC FRSE (Chair)  
  • Professor M Ashfold CChem FRSC FRS
  • Professor H Colquhoun CChem FRSC
  • Professor S Gibson OBE CChem FRSC
  • Dr Bryan Hanley 

Rules and Criteria


  • Awarded biennially.
  • The winner will receive an award of 50,000 and a plaque.
  • The winner will be selected by an independent panel of five judges appointed by the Royal Society of Chemistry.
  • This award is independent of the RSC Awards, so candidates will be eligible to win both the AkzoNobel UK Science Award and an RSC Award or Prize in the same year. 
  • The Award will be presented during a special event, to include a lecture by the winner and a celebratory dinner, at The Chemistry Centre London on Wednesday 5th March 2014.
  • Candidates must be an active research scientist working in the United Kingdom.
  • Nominations open on 01 June 2013
  • Nominations close on 15 October 2013
  • Candidates may NOT nominate themselves
  • Nominators are asked to submit (i) a supporting statement addressing the selection criteria (see link) of no longer than one A4 side of 11pt text and (ii) a one page CV for the candidate which should include their date of birth, website URL, summary of education and career, a list of 5 relevant recent publications and total numbers of publications and patents.
  • The winner of the Award will be announced in the March 2014 issue of Chemistry World.     


Selection Criteria

The criteria by which the panel of judges will choose the Award winner will be 

  • outstanding achievements in any of the fields of science within the scope of the Award
  • originality of the research
  • impact of the research (on future research in the field of science and its potential for end-use)
  • quality of scientific publications and/or patents

About the Award

The AkzoNobel Science Awards are presented in recognition of outstanding scientific contributions by individuals in the fields of chemistry and materials sciences. 

First bestowed in the Netherlands in 1970 - when it was known as the Akzo Prize - the presentation of the award was extended to Sweden in 1999, when it was re-named the AkzoNobel Science Award. To reflect the growing global nature of the company, the Award was further extended to China in 2010 and was introduced into the UK in February, 2012. 

Related Links

Link icon AkzoNobel Science Awards
More information about the Award and previous winners

External links will open in a new browser window

Also of interest


Find out more about AkzoNobel

Contact and Further Information

If you would like any help or further information about the AkzoNobel UK Science Award, please contact us.

AkzoNobel UK Science Award
Royal Society of Chemistry, Thomas Graham House, Cambridge Science Park, Milton Road, Cambridge, CB4 0WF
Tel: +44 (0)1223 432276
Fax: +44 (0)1223 426017