Inorganic Mechanisms Award

The Inorganic Mechanisms Award recognises studies leading to understanding of reaction mechanisms in any branch of inorganic chemistry and by any methods.

2017 Winner

Professor Robert Morris

Inorganic Mechanisms Award 2017 Winner

Professor Robert Morris, University of Toronto

General information

  • Run biennially - NOT OPEN for 2018 nominations 
  • The winner receives 2000, a medal and a certificate
  • The winner will complete a UK lecture tour
  • The winner will be chosen by the Dalton Division Awards Committee      

Guidelines for Nominators

  • Nominations open on 01 October 
  • Nominations close on 15 January  
  • Only RSC Members can nominate for this award
  • Nominees may NOT nominate themselves
  • The award is open to nominees based in the UK or internationally
  • There are no age restrictions associated with this award
  • When nominating previous RSC prize or award winners, please remember that a person cannot be awarded twice for substantially the same body of work   

To make a nomination please use our online awards nominations system  to submit the following:

  • Your name, contact details, and membership number (please contact the RSC Membership team if you do not know your membership details)
  • The nominee's name and contact details 
  • An up to date CV for the nominee (no longer than one A4 side, 11pt text) which should include their date of birth, summary of education and career, a list of 5 relevant publications, total numbers of publications and patents (if appropriate) and website URL if relevant
  • A supporting statement (up to 4500 characters, not including spaces) addressing the selection criteria
  • A short citation describing what the nominee should be awarded for. This must be no longer than 250 characters (not including spaces) and ideally no longer than one sentence 
  • References are not required for this award and will not be accepted

Selection Criteria for RSC Awards

Our selection committees base their evaluations primarily on the overall quality of relevant contributions made by nominees and not simply on quantitative measures.

The selection committee(s) will consider the following aspects of all nominations for scientific research Awards as appropriate:

  • Originality of research
  • Impact of research
  • Quality of publications and/or patents and/or software
  • Innovation
  • Professional standing
  • Collaborations and teamwork
  • Other indicators of esteem indicated by the nominee/nominator   

Dalton Division Awards Committee

  • Emma Raven, University of Leicester (Chair)
  • Nigel Pickett, Nanoco Technologies Ltd
  • Scott Dalgarno, Heriot-Watt University
  • Rebecca Melen, Cardiff University
  • Ian Fairlamb, University of York
  • Jennifer Garden, University of Edinburgh 

Previous Winners

Inorganic Mechanisms Award Previous Winners

2009 - present

History of the Award

The RSC Inorganic Mechanisms Award was established in 2008. 

Contact and Further Information

Royal Society of Chemistry, Thomas Graham House, Milton Road, Science Park, Cambridge, CB4 0WF
Tel: +44 (0)1223 420066