de Gennes Prize 2013 Winner

Professor Susumu Kitagawa
Professor Susumu Kitagawa
Kyoto University

For his creative development of advanced functional porous materials through innovative coordination chemistry.

About the Winner

Susumu Kitagawa is Professor of Inorganic Chemistry at the Department of Synthetic Chemistry and Biological Chemistry, and Director of the Institute for Integrated Cell-Material Sciences, at Kyoto University, Japan.

His research interests are focused on the design and synthesis of functional porous materials. He was the first to discover and to demonstrate porosity in solid coordination networks with gas sorption experiments - materials which are now known as porous coordination polymers (PCPs) or metal-organic frameworks (MOFs). 

He has published over 450 scientific papers, and has served the community as Associate Editor of Chemistry, Asian.Journal. and CrystEngCommun, as well as on the editorial advisory boards of numerous journals including Chemical Communications, Inorganic Chemistry, Chemistry of Materials, and Angewandte Chemie.

Professor Kitagawa was appointed Frontiers in Chemical Research Lecturer, Texas A & M University, USA (2009) and Earl L. Muetterties Memorial Lecturer, University of California, Berkeley, USA (2007). He was visiting professor at Université Louis Pasteur, Strasbourg, France (2005) and Sun Yat-sen University, China (2005). He was awarded the Japan Society of Coordination Chemistry Award (2007), the Humboldt Research Award, Germany (2008), the Chemical Society of Japan Award (2009), a Thomson Reuters Citation Laureate (2010), the Medal with Purple Ribbon from the Japanese Government (2011), and an Honorary Fellowship of the Chemical Research Society of India (2011). 

He is now president of the Japan Society of Coordination Chemistry and was elected a member of the Science Council of Japan (2012).