The 16th International Conference on Molecule-based Magnets - ICMM2018

1 - 5 September 2018, Rio de Janeiro / RJ, Brazil


Welcome to ICMM2018 - Rio de Janeiro, September 1-5, 2018

The Latin American Molecular Magnetism community is very happy to host the 16th International Conference on Molecule-based Magnets ICMM2018 

The conference program consists of plenary, keynote and invited lectures, as well as oral and poster presentations, with no parallel sections. The event integrates chemists, physicists and materials scientists from junior to senior levels. It is also traditional to invite high-level researchers working in frontier areas to interact with the Molecular Magnetism community. The aim of this scientific exchange is to foster new ideas and create new collaborations. 

Conference Topis:

  • Molecule-based Magnets
  • Molecular Nanomagnets
  • Switchable Magnetic Materials
  • Multifunctional Magnetic Materials
  • Magnetic Metal Organic Frameworks
  • Molecular Approach to Magnetic Nanostructures
  • Electronic structure, Modelling and Theory
  • Spectroscopic and Advanced Experimental Methods
  • Molecular Spintronics and Interface Magnetic Effects
  • Spins for Quantum Information
  • Magnetochiral and Frustrated Systems
  • Biomagnetic Phenomena
  • Magnetic Nanoparticles and Applications
  • Magneto-optic and Magnetocaloric Nanomaterials
This traditional biennial conference has been held alternately in Europe, Asia and North America since 1989. This is the first time that ICMM is hosted in the Southern hemisphere, and we are both pleased and honored to invite you all to share and celebrate the new exciting scientific contributions to be brought to Brazil by research groups worldwide.

Registration and abstract submission are now open.
Please follow our news and updates 

We look forward to seeing you in Rio de Janeiro!

Prof. Miguel A. Novak
UFRJ, Brazil
  • Ado Jorio de Vasconcelos (Plenary Lecture) Departamento de Física, Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais, Brazil
  • Jaume Veciana (Kahn Lecture) Institut de Ciència de Materials de Barcelona, Spain
  • Kim R. Dunbar (Plenary Lecture) Department of Chemistry, Texas A&M University, United States
  • Andrea Morello (Plenary Lecture) The University of New South Wales - Sydney, Australia
  • Vincent Cros (Plenary Lecture) Unité Mixte de Physique CNRS/Thales, France
  • Bing-Wu Wang (Keynote Lecture) Peking University, United Kingdom
  • Eugenio Coronado (Keynote Lecture) University of Valencia, United Kingdom
  • Hitoshi Miyasaka (Keynote Lecture) Tohoku University, Japan
  • Marius Andruh (Keynote Lecture) University of Bucharest, Romania
  • Olivier Cador (Keynote Lecture) University of Rennes 1, France
  • Richard Winpenny (Keynote Lecture) The University of Manchester, United Kingdom
  • Stefano Sanvito (Keynote Lecture) Trinity College, Ireland
  • Tatiana Guidi (Keynote Lecture) ISIS-Rutherford Appleton Laboratory, United Kingdom
  • Diana Dulic (Invited Lecture) University of Chile, Chile
  • Elizeo Ruiz (Invited Lecture) University of Barcelona, Spain
  • Francesc Lloret (Invited Lecture) University of Valencia, Spain
  • Gopalan Rajaraman (Invited Lecture) Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay, India
  • Guillaume Chastanet (Invited Lecture) Institut de Chimie de la Matière Condensée, Bordeaux (ICMCB), France
  • Júlio Criginski Cezar (Invited Lecture) Brazilian Synchrotron Light Laboratory, Brazil
  • Jeffrey Rinehart (Invited Lecture) University of California - San Diego, United States
  • Jing-Lin Zuo (Invited Lecture) Nanjing University, China
  • Katsuya Inoue (Invited Lecture) University of Hiroshima, Japan
  • Lorenzo Sorace (Invited Lecture) University of Florence, Italy
  • Marco Affronte (Invited Lecture) University of Modena and Reggio Emilia (Unimore), Italy
  • Masahiro Yamashita (Invited Lecture) Tohoku University, Japan
  • Michael Nippe (Invited Lecture) Texas A&M University, United States
  • Michael Shatruk (Invited Lecture) Florida State University, United States
  • Mónica Soler Jaumá (Invited Lecture) University of Chile, Chile
  • Muralee Murugesu (Invited Lecture) University of Ottawa, Canada
  • Vivien Zapf (Invited Lecture) Los Alamos National Laboratory, United States
  • Vladimir Mironov (Invited Lecture) Shubnikov Institute of Crystallography, Russian Federation

Sponsorship & supporting organisations
  • Sociedade Brasileira de Física, SBF
  • ​Sociedade Brasileira de Química, SBQ
  • Conselho Nacional de Desenvolvimento Científico e Tecnológico, CNPq (Brazilian Research Council) 
  • Quantum Design International
Windsor Marapendi Hotel

Convention Centre, Windsor Marapendi Hotel , Av. Lúcio Costa, 5400, Barra da Tijuca, Rio de Janeiro / RJ, 22630-012, Brazil

Organised by
  • Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro (UFRJ), Brazil
  • Universidade Federal Fluminense (UFF), Brazil

Contact information
Showing all upcoming events
Start Date
End Date
Subject area
Event type

Advertisement Spotlight Advertisement

E-mail Enquiry