Cyril Keattch Award Mackenzie-Redfern Bursaries





Dr Cyril J Keattch 1st TMG Secretary Served from 1965 to 1999



Dr Robert C. Mackezie TMG Founder Member & 1st TMG Chairman



Dr John P Redfern TMG Founder Member & 2nd TMG Chairman

The TMG Cyril Keattch Award Competition is held biennially in memory of the Group's first Secretary, who held the post from 1965 until his untimely death in 1999. The Award is made to an outstanding early career scientist working in the field of thermal analysis or calorimetry to enable them to present a paper based on their work at an International Conference. It consists of an Award Certificate and a grant of up to £1000 towards the Conference Registration fee, travel and living expenses at the Conference.

The 2018 Cyril Keattch Award will be associated with the 12th European Symposium on Thermal Analysis and Calorimetry (ESTAC 12) which will be held on August 26th - 30th, 2018 in Brasov, Romania.

This year, the TMG has established the Mackenzie-Redfern Bursaries in memory of Dr Robert Mackenzie and Dr John Redfern the Group's founders. The purpose of the Bursaries is to help early career scientists present a paper or poster at a TMG TAC National Conference. For 2018, the Bursaries will be awarded to the three best entries for the 2018 Cyril Keattch Award and will consist of a prize of £150 and an Award Certificate.

Candidates must be resident in the UK. Those wishing to apply should have normally worked for up to ten years at the post-graduate level and any periods of leave, (such as, but not limited to, maternity leave) should be documented. Candidates should supply a nomination letter from a senior colleague, a full curriculum vitae and a one page abstract of the paper that they intend to present at 12th ESTAC.

The submissions will be reviewed by a TMG sub-committee. The authors of the best three entries will then be invited to give a 20 minute presentation (including questions) at the TAC 2018 Conference which will be held on the 27^{th} - 28^{th} March 2018 at Queens University, Belfast (www.thermalmethodsgroup.org.uk). The winner of the Cyril Keattch competition will be announced at the Conference dinner.

The submissions should be submitted in electronic format to the TMG Chairman, Dr Glynn Van-de-Velde (glynnv@btinternet.com) by the 31st January 2018.