

## Kent Local Section 2022 AGM Minutes

## 2022 Annual General Meeting of the RSC Kent Local Section held at the University of Greenwich, Central Avenue, Chatham Maritime, ME4 4TB on Wednesday 14<sup>th</sup> June 2023 at 1900

- 1. Attendance: 30 members registered for the meeting and 26 attended in person 8 members also attended this hybrid meeting virtually via Teams Apologies were received from Vanessa Bird, Sarah Branch, Don Clark, Aga Gordon, Peter Jones and Craig Milsted
- 2. Minutes of the previous meeting: Minutes of the previous meeting were precirculated and agreed unanimously as a fair record. These will be sent to RSC Networks for review and filing

**Matters Arising:** Chair Gemma opened the meeting by mentioning two RSC awards which had recently been announced. She was delighted to acknowledge that th Kent Local Section Committee had been awarded an Inspirational Committee Award for 'a proactive and effective approach to supporting diversity both within the committee and across their events and activities'. Gemma reinforced that the committee will continue to be aware of, respond to and acknowledge diversity when planning and running events and activities

Gemma also announced that Pfizer employee Emily Rose has been named winner of the RSC Chemical Sciences Apprentice of the Year in recognition of brilliance in research and innovation. Emily won the prize for 'outstanding contributions towards the development of synthetic routes and processes for emerging medicines and contributions to STEM activities'

For information on all 2023 RSC prizes go to <u>https://www.rsc.org/prizes-funding/prizes/2023-winners/research-and-innovation-prizes/</u>

## 3. Declaration of officers and officers:

The 2023 committee consists of the following:

The 2023 committee consists	or the following.	
Role	Name	Term of Office
Chairman	Gemma Scotney	2022-2025
Secretary	Dave Alker	2022-2025
Treasurer	Greg Burnard	2022-2025
CCF representative	Peter Jones	2022-2025
Elected member (2nd term)	Vanessa Bird	2023-2026
Elected member (2nd term)	Steve Harte	2023-2026
Elected member (2nd term)	Sam Booth	2022-2025
Elected member (2nd term)	Craig Milsted	2022-2025
Elected member (1st term)	Anna Andreou	2022-2025
Elected member (1st term)	Mark Botting	2022-2025
Elected member (2nd term)	Emilia Bertolo	2020-2023
Elected member (2nd term)	Robert Goldmann	2020-2023
Elected member (2nd term)	Raj Milsted	2020-2023
Elected member (1st term)	David Hall	2020-2023
Elected member (1st term)	Chris Serpell	2020-2023
Co-opted member	Don Clark	2023-2024
Co-opted member	Mark Honey	2023-2024

Gemma invited any member of Kent Local Section who is interested in joining the committee to get in touch with her



- 5. **Retiring members**: The following members had resigned from the committee during 2022: Charlotte Carr, John Coad, Ifthikharul Hoque, Kanan Purkayastha and Ale Traspas. Gemma thanked them for their contributions to the work of the committee over the years
- 6. **Chairman's report:** The 2022 Annual Report had been pre-circulated and Gemma summarised the activities verbally
- **7. Treasurer's report:** This was pre-circulated to all registered attendees. Greg reported that the balance at the end of 2022 was £4776.35
- 8. Chemists Community Fund report: This was pre-circulated to all registered attendees and accepted without comment
- 9. Appointment of auditors: Peter Drewry offered to act as auditor for 2023 and this was accepted unanimously
- **10. AOB:** None raised

Meeting was closed at 1926