

# Kent Local Section 2020 AGM Minutes

## The 2020 Annual General Meeting of the RSC Kent Local Section Held via GoToMeeting on Wednesday 17<sup>th</sup> March 2021 at 1900

These minutes record the actions agreed by the RSC Kent Local Section committee

- 1. Attendance: 37 members registered for the meeting and 31 attended in person No apologies had been received
- 2. Minutes of the previous meeting: Minutes of the previous meeting were precirculated and agreed unanimously as a fair record. These will be sent to RSC Networks for review and filing
- 3. Matters Arising: None were declared
- 4. **Declaration of officers and officers**: No officer or committee member had come to the end of their term of office and so no elections were necessary see Appendix Mark announced that he and Dave Alker would not seek re-election at the 2021 AGM and that Gemma Scotney and Charlotte Carr had been nominated by the committee as Chairman and Secretary, respectively, for a four year term, 2022-2025
- 5. Retiring members: Mike Witty was thanked for his contributions to the committee
- 6. Chairman's report: The 2020 Annual Report had been pre-circulated. Mark summarised the activities of 2020 commenting that, while physical meetings had not proved possible, the committee had supported schools and universities by awarding grants and had also awarded prizes to students and apprentices at the Kent universities

Mike Beale and Simon O'Leary were applauded as recipients of gold badges recognising that they had achieved 40 years membership of the RSC. Badges will be sent to all 13 eligible members by RSC Membership in due course

- 7. **Treasurer's report:** This was pre-circulated to all registered attendees. Because of the pandemic, expenditure this year was limited and the balance at year end stood at approximately £5700. The RSC had reduced the grant payable to Local Sections by a third in 2021 and Kent Local Section had therefore received approximately £3000 Peter Drewry was thanked for auditing the accounts
- 8. Chemists Community Fund report: This was pre-circulated to all registered attendees. Ian commented that one significant change was that the RSC insurers had waived the age restriction of 80 on Volunteer Visitors which was a welcome move

#### 9. Appointment of auditors:

Peter Drewry volunteered to act as auditor for 2021 and his offer was accepted unanimously

#### 10. AOB:

John Coad mentioned that the visualisers for which the committee had agreed a donation of £2000 were now in schools and being used

Meeting was closed at 1933



### APPENDIX

All officers were elected to a four year term of office (2018-2021) at the 2018 AGM:

Mark Botting Dave Alker Greg Burnard Ian Parsons Chairman Secretary Treasurer Chemist's Community Fund representative

2020 elected committee members:

Emilia Bertolo, Vanessa Bird, Sam Booth, Charlotte Carr, Don Clark, John Coad, Robert Goldmann, David Hall, Steve Harte, Ifthikharul Hoque, Craig Milsted, Raj Milsted, Darren Pink, Chris Serpell, Gemma Scotney

2020 co-opted committee members: Anna Andreou