Ethiopia Hub

Flag of Ethiopia
The Ethiopia Hub is located at the University of Addis Ababa. 


The Local Management Committee is composed of: 

  • Dr Ahmed Mustafa; Assistant Professor, Department of Chemistry and Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Programs, AAU Chairman of LMC 
  • Professor Theodros Solomon; Professor for Physical Chemistry, Department of Chemistry, AAU  
  • Mr Yitbarek Alemu, Owner and manager of YASCAI (Yitbarek Alemu Starch, Chemical & Adhesive Industry)
  • Dr Yonas Chebude; Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry, AAU
  • Dr Mulat Abegaz; President of the Chemical Society of Ethiopia, International Consultant Food Safety & SPS

Ethiopian scientist in lab

Launch of the Ethiopia Hub

The launch of the Ethiopia Hub took place at the Biodiversity Conference held at the University of Nairobi, Chiromo Campus, in September 2008. 

Prof Paul O'Brien (Manchester University, RSC Council Member) and Mr Andy Watt (Head of East Africa Syngenta) presided over the launch.

Biodiversity Conference

10-12 September 2008, University of Nairobi, Chiromo Campus

25th Foundation Anniversary of the Chemical Society of Ethiopia

18-24 February 2008, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia

Downloadable Files

Local management Committee Biographies
Dr Mulat Abegaz, Mr. Yitbarek Alemu, Professor. Theodros Solomon, Dr Yonas Chebude, Dr Ahmed M. Mohammed
PDF iconPDF (57k)  

PDF files require Link icon Adobe Acrobat Reader

Chemical Society of Ethiopia

Chemical Society of Ethiopia

Find out more about Ethiopia's local chemical society

Contact and Further Information

Mrs Bethlehem Fetene
PACN Ethiopia Administrator
Addis Ababa University, Ethiopia