Beilby Medal and Prize

The Beilby Medal and Prize recognises work of exceptional practical significance in chemical engineering, applied materials science, energy efficiency or a related field.

2018 Winner

Dr Gregg Beckham

2018 Beilby Medal and Prize Winner

Dr Gregg Beckham, National Renewable Energy Laboratory

General information

  • Run annually 
  • The winner receives 1000, a medal and a certificate
  • The award is administered in rotation by the Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining (IOM3), the Society of Chemical Industry (SCI) and the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC)        

Society of Chemical Industry        IOM3 logo

Guidelines for Nominators

  • Nominations open on 01 October
  • Nominations close on 15 January
  • Both RSC members and non-members can nominate for this award
  • Nominees are permitted to nominate themselves
  • The award is open to nominees based in the UK and internationally
  • Nominees should be an early career scientist, typically with no more than 10 years of full-time equivalent professional experience
  • This should be experience gained as part of a scientific career excluding time spent in full-time education. Time spent as a postgraduate student should not be included e.g. Masters, PhD. Time spent as a post-doctoral researcher should be included 
  • Nominators will be asked to provide details of the nominee's professional experience, in relation to the above criteria
  • Career breaks will be recognised, and applications are particularly encouraged from those whose career has spanned a break due to caring responsibilities or personal circumstances e.g. a period of parental/adoption leave, family commitments, illness, or other exceptional circumstances
  • When nominating previous RSC Prize and Award winners, please remember that a person cannot be awarded twice for substantially the same body of work that has already been recognised by any of the awarding bodies.              

To make a nomination please use our online awards nominations system  to submit the following:

  • Your name, contact details, and membership number (please contact the RSC Membership team if you do not know your membership details)
  • The nominee's name and contact details 
  • An up to date CV for the nominee (no longer than one A4 side, 11pt text) which should include their date of birth, summary of education and career, a list of 5 relevant publications, total numbers of publications and patents (if appropriate) and website URL if relevant
  • A supporting statement (up to 4500 characters, not including spaces) addressing the selection criteria 
  • A short citation describing what the nominee should be awarded for. This must be no longer than 250 characters (not including spaces) and ideally no longer than one sentence 
  • The names and contact details of two referees. Please inform referees of the nomination as the awards system will contact them as soon as the application is submitted.
  • Referees must provide reports by 31 January
  • We will contact nominators and referees of nominees with outstanding references one week after close of nominations on 15 January once only.    

The RSC reserves the right to rescind any Prize or Award if there is reasonable grounds to do so. All nominators will be asked to confirm that, to the best of their knowledge, there is no confirmed or potential impediment to their nominee receiving this prize/award related to their professional standing. Our Professional Practice and Code of Conduct can be referred to as a guide on expected standards.  

Downloadable Files

PDF files require Link icon Adobe Acrobat Reader

Selection Criteria for RSC Awards

Our selection committees base their evaluations primarily on the overall quality of relevant contributions made by nominees and not simply on quantitative measures.

The selection committee(s) will consider the following aspects of all nominations for scientific research Awards as appropriate:

  • Originality of research
  • Impact of research
  • Quality of publications and/or patents and/or software
  • Innovation
  • Professional standing
  • Collaborations and teamwork
  • Other indicators of esteem indicated by the nominee/nominator      

Guidelines for Referees

  • The awards system will contact referees to inform them that they must provide reports (of up to 4500 characters, not including spaces) by 31 January.
  • We will contact nominators and referees of nominees with outstanding references after one week after close of nominations on 15 January once only.
  • Referees must state their relationship (if any) with the nominee and note any conflicts of interest.     

Previous Winners

Beilby Medal and Prize Previous Winners

1930 - present

History of the Award

Sir George Beilby
The Beilby medal, awarded by the Royal Society of Chemistry, Society of Chemical Industry and the Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining, is a memorial to Sir George Thomas Beilby, President of all three bodies, or their predecessors. Founded after his death in 1924, the first recipients of the Beilby Medal in 1930 were Guy Dunstan Bengough and Ulick Richardson Evans.

Beilby was born in 1850 and studied at Edinburgh University. He went on to join the Oakbank Oil Company in 1869, where he began to tackle problems of poor fuel economy.  In collaboration with William Young, he improved the yield of oil and ammonia from shale by improving the fractional distillation process. Through his work in this field, Beilby was asked to contribute to the Royal Commission on Coal Supplies in 1903, and later was elected as Chairman of the newly established Fuel Research Board in 1917. He built the Fuel Research Station in East Greenwich to study different coals and problems such as low temperature carbonisation.

As well as contributing substantially to improving fuel economy, Beilby was also director of the Cassel Cyanide Company and Caster-Kellner Alkali Company, patented an improved method for producing hydrogen cyanide and made contributions to the field of metallurgy.

His contributions led to his election as a Fellow of the Royal Society in 1906, a knighthood in 1916, and the receipt of several honorary degrees.   

Submit your nomination

This year, the nominations for the Beilby Medal and Prize are being administered by the Society of Chemical Industry.

Related Links

Link icon Society of Chemical Industry
Beilby Medal and Prize 2020

External links will open in a new browser window

Contact and Further Information

Royal Society of Chemistry, Thomas Graham House, Cambridge Science Park, Milton Road, Cambridge, CB4 0WF
Tel: +44 (0)1223 420066