Robert Boyle Prize for Analytical Science

The Robert Boyle Prize for Analytical Science is awarded for outstanding contributions to analytical science.

2018 Winner

Professor Richard Compton

2018 Robert Boyle Prize for Analytical Science Winner

Professor Richard Compton, University of Oxford

General information

  • Run biennially - Closed for 2021 nominations
  • The winner receives 5000, a medal and a certificate            
  • The winner will complete a UK lecture tour
  • Prize winners are chosen by the RSC Analytical Division Awards Committee   

Guidelines for Nominators

  • Only RSC Members can nominate for this prize
  • Nominees may NOT nominate themselves
  • Previous winners of the SAC Gold Medal are not eligible for this prize
  • The prize is open to nominees based in the UK or internationally
  • There are no age restrictions associated with this prize
  • When nominating previous RSC prize or award winners, please remember that a person cannot be awarded twice for substantially the same body of work      

To make a nomination please use our online awards nominations system to submit the following:

  • Your name, contact details, and membership number (please contact the RSC Membership team if you do not know your membership details)
  • The nominee's name and contact details 
  • An up to date CV for the nominee (no longer than one A4 side, 11pt text) which should include a summary of their education and career, a list of 5 relevant publications total numbers of publications and patents (if appropriate) and website URL if relevant
  • A supporting statement (up to 4500 characters, not including spaces) addressing the selection criteria
  • A short citation describing what the nominee should be awarded for. This must be no longer than 250 characters (not including spaces) and ideally no longer than one sentence 
  • References are not required for this award and will not be accepted   

The RSC reserves the right to rescind any Prize or Award if there is reasonable grounds to do so. All nominators will be asked to confirm that, to the best of their knowledge, there is no confirmed or potential impediment to their nominee receiving this prize/award related to their professional standing. Our Professional Practice and Code of Conduct can be referred to as a guide on expected standards.

Downloadable Files

PDF files require Link icon Adobe Acrobat Reader

Selection Criteria for RSC Prizes

Our selection committees base their evaluations primarily on the overall quality of relevant contributions made by nominees and not simply on quantitative measures.

The selection committee(s) will consider the following aspects of all nominations for scientific research Prizes as appropriate:

  • Originality of research
  • Impact of research
  • Quality of publications and/or patents and/or software
  • Innovation
  • Professional standing
  • Collaborations and teamwork
  • Other indicators of esteem indicated by the nominee/nominator      

Analytical Division Awards Committee

  • Duncan Graham, University of Strathclyde (Chair)
  • Tony Cass, Imperial College London
  • Kirsty Penkman, University of York  
  • Richard Compton, University of Oxford
  • Evan Williams, University of California Berkeley
  • Nicole Pamme, University of Hull


Previous Winners

Robert Boyle Prize for Analytical Science Previous Winners

1982 - present

History of the Prize

Portrait of Robert Boyle by Johann Kerseboom, c. 1689
Robert Boyle (1627-1691) is widely regarded as being the first modern chemist after the publication of his work The Sceptical Chymist.

The Boyle Prize was first awarded in 2008, bringing together the Robert Boyle Medal (awarded to distinguished overseas analytical chemists) and the Society of Analytical Chemistry (SAC) Gold Medal (awarded to distinguished analytical chemists from the UK and Republic of Ireland). The first recipient of the Robert Boyle Prize was Graham Cooks from Purdue University, USA.

SAC Gold Medal

Awarded biennially to someone who had made outstanding contributions to analytical science, principally through research, but also noting education, consultancy and service to the ...

Contact and Further Information

Royal Society of Chemistry, Thomas Graham House, Cambridge Science Park, Milton Road, Cambridge, CB4 0WF
Tel: +44 (0)1223 420066