Robert Boyle Prize for Analytical Science 2010 Winner

Gary Hieftje
Gary Hieftje
Indiana University

For his contributions in the conception, design, development and innovation of analytical instrumentation

About the Winner

Gary M. Hieftje, FRSC, is Distinguished Professor and Mann Chair of Chemistry at Indiana University in Bloomington, Indiana.  His research interests include the investigation of basic mechanisms in atomic emission, absorption, fluorescence and mass spectrometric analysis, and the development of instrumentation and techniques for atomic and molecular methods of analysis.  

He is interested also in the on-line computer control of chemical instrumentation and experiments, the use of time-resolved luminescence processes for analysis, the application of information theory to analytical chemistry, analytical mass spectrometry, near-infrared reflectance analysis, metallomics, and the use of stochastic processes to extract basic and kinetic chemical information.

He has won numerous awards in the fields of analytical chemistry, chemical instrumentation, and spectroscopy, has held major offices in several scientific societies, has delivered many named lectures, and has served on the editorial boards of many major journals.  He is the author of over 550 publications, 10 books, and 18 patents.  More than 65 students have received doctorates under his direction; many others have received M.S. degrees, and scores of undergraduates and visiting scientists have performed research in his laboratories.

Related Links

Link icon Laboratory for Spectrochemistry
Gary M.Hieftje Research Group

External links will open in a new browser window