Creativity in Industry Prize

The Creativity in Industry Prize is an outstanding achievement award recognising the contribution of an individual to the chemical sciences industry.

2019 Winner

Dr John Casci

2019 Creativity in Industry Prize Winner

Dr John L Casci, Johnson Matthey Plc

General information

  • Run biennially - NOT OPEN for 2020 nominations
  • The winner will be chosen by an independent expert selection panel  

Guidelines for nominators

  • Nominations open on 01 October and close on 15 January
  • Both RSC members and non-members can nominate for this prize 
  • Nominees may NOT nominate themselves 
  • The award is open to nominees based in the UK and internationally
  • Individuals based in chemical sciences industry or academia can be nominated  


To make a nomination please use our online awards nominations system. If you are an RSC member, please make sure you have the membership number to hand before accessing the online system.

During the application process you will be asked to provide:

  • A supporting statement (up to 4500 characters, not including spaces) describing the following points:
    • the innovation in the workplace 
    • the technical, commercial, environmental or other impact arising from the work. There is no requirement for detailed technical or commercial data
    • sufficient information to enable the assessors to compare submissions that are likely to be vastly different from each other. 
    • details of any patents or prizes 
  • One page CV for the candidate, which should include a summary of education and career

When nominating previous RSC prize or award winners, please remember that a person cannot be awarded twice for substantially the same body of work

Selection criteria

The assessment panel will employ the following criteria (in no particular order):

  • Research contribution to a chemical science based company 
  • Financial and strategic contribution to the company must be demonstrated 
  • Bulk of the nominee's career must have been spent in the UK 
  • Demonstration of innovation leading to commercial success 
  • Contributions to the scientific innovation of the company     

There is no requirement for detailed technical or commercial data and applicants can be reassured that complete confidentiality is guaranteed.

Our selection committees base their evaluations primarily on the overall quality of relevant contributions made by nominees and not simply on quantitative measures.

Selection panel

  • Roy Sandbach, Newcastle University (Chair)
  • Jacquin Wilford-Brown, AkzoNobel
  • Mark Gronnow, Biorenewables Development Centre
  • Keith Layden, Croda
  • Christian Jones, Nanoform Finland Ltd
  • Alexander Alanine, Nanna Therapeutics  

Previous Winners

Creativity in Industry Prize 2017 Winner

Glen Sunley, BP Chemicals Ltd

Creativity in Industry Prize 2015 Winner

Dr Christopher Barnard, Johnson Matthey Technology Centre

Creativity in Industry Prize 2013 Winner

Dr Kenneth Lewtas, Infineum UK Ltd

Creativity in Industry Prize 2011 Winner

John Clough, Syngenta

Contact and Further Information

Royal Society of Chemistry, Thomas Graham House, Cambridge Science Park, Milton Road, Cambridge, CB4 0WF
Tel: +44 (0)1223 420066