Frankland Award 2014 Winner

Professor Cameron Jones
Professor Cameron Jones
Monash University

For his many contributions to new, fundamental main group and transition metal chemistry, and in particular for the synthesis and reactivity of compounds of the Group 13 and 14 elements in low formal oxidation states.

About the Winner

Professor Cameron Jones obtained his BSc(Hons) degree from the University of Western Australia (1984). He carried out his PhD studies at Griffith University, Brisbane, under the supervision of Professor Colin L. Raston (1989-1992), followed by postdoctoral work (1992-1994) with Professor John F. Nixon FRS, Sussex University. 

He was appointed Lecturer at The University of Wales, Swansea (1994), before moving to a Readership at Cardiff University (1998). There, he was promoted to a Personal Chair in 2002. In 2007 he moved to Monash University, Melbourne, as an Australian Professorial Research Fellow (2007-2011), where he remains, as Professor of Chemistry.  

He has been the recipient of a number of awards, most notable of which are the Main Group Chemistry Prize of the RSC (2003), the Senior Research Prize of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation (2008), and the Burrows (2011) and HG Smith (2013) Awards of the Royal Australian Chemical Institute (RACI). He is a Fellow of both the RSC and the RACI. 

His current research interests are wide ranging, with particular emphasis being placed on the fundamental and applied chemistry of low oxidation state s-, p- and d-block metal complexes, unusual metal-metal bonded systems, and metal hydrides. In these and related areas he has published more than 300 papers.

Related Links

Link icon Professor Jones' website
Monash University

External links will open in a new browser window