Industrial Analytical Science Award

To recognise the work of industrial analytical scientists and is given for outstanding contribution to analytical technology or methodology in industry.

2019 Winner

This Award was not awarded for 2019.

General information

  • Runs annually 
  • The winner receives a cash prize of 2000. 
  • The winner will be chosen jointly by independent selection panels from industry and the Analytical Division    

Guidelines for nominators

  • Nominations open on 01 October and close on 15 January
  • Both RSC members and non-members can nominate for this award 
  • Nominees may NOT nominate themselves 
  • The award is open to nominees based in the UK or Republic of Ireland only
  • Individuals working in chemical science industry can be nominated 

To make a nomination please use our online awards nominations system at the bottom of the page. Please make sure you have your RSC membership number to hand before accessing the online system.

During the application process you will be required to provide:

  • A  supporting statement (up to 4500 characters, not including spaces) addressing the selection criteria below 

  • One page CV for the nominee, which should include a summary of education and career

There is no requirement for detailed technical or commercial data and applicants can be reassured that complete confidentiality is guaranteed.

When nominating recent Prize or Award winners, please remember that a person cannot be rewarded twice for substantially the same body of work.

The RSC reserves the right to rescind any Prize or Award if there is reasonable grounds to do so. All nominators will be asked to confirm that, to the best of their knowledge, there is no confirmed or potential impediment to their nominee receiving this prize/award related to their professional standing. Our Professional Practice and Code of Conduct can be referred to as a guide on expected standards.

Downloadable Files

PDF files require Link icon Adobe Acrobat Reader

Selection Criteria for RSC Awards

Our selection committees base their evaluations primarily on the overall quality of relevant contributions made by nominees and not simply on quantitative measures.

The selection committee(s) will consider the following aspects of all nominations as appropriate:

  • Impact of work
  • Innovation / ingenuity - creativity or novel application of expertise in problem solving, technique or method development
  • Achievement - candidate's expertise and effort had a significant effect on reaching / exceeding a target, or enabling a project team to do so
  • Collaboration - outstanding teamwork or leadership in the face of challenges 
  • Inspiration - based on using expertise and knowledge to inspire others to achieve 

Selection panel

  • Roy Sandbach, Newcastle University (Chair)
  • Jacquin Wilford-Brown, AkzoNobel
  • Mark Gronnow, Biorenewables Development Centre
  • Keith Layden, Croda
  • Christian Jones, Johnson Matthey
  • Alexander Alanine, Nanna Therapeutics   

Analytical Division Awards Committee

  • Duncan Graham, University of Strathclyde (Chair)
  • Tony Cass, Imperial College London
  • Kirsty Penkman, University of York  
  • Richard Compton, University of Oxford
  • Evan Williams, University of California Berkeley
  • Nicole Pamme, University of Hull


Previous Winners

Industrial Analytical Science Award 2016 Winner

Nathan Lawrence, ANB Sensors

Industrial Analytical Science Award 2014 Winner

Dr Kevin Giles, Waters Corporation

Submit your nomination

Related Links

Link icon Submit your nomination online
Deadline for nominations is 15 January 2020. Your nomination can be saved and completed at any time.

External links will open in a new browser window

Contact and Further Information

Royal Society of Chemistry, Thomas Graham House, Cambridge Science Park, Milton Road, Cambridge, CB4 0WF
Tel: +44 (0)1223 420066