Inspiration and Industry Award

This award is given in recognition of an individual's or team's impact on the local or national community in relation to the promotion of science and STEM careers.

2019 Winners

Pfizer Science in a Box Team

2019 Inspiration & Industry Award Winner

Pfizer Science in a Box Team, Pfizer UK

General information

  • Runs annually
  • The winner receives a cash prize of 2000
  • The award winner will be chosen jointly by independent expert panels from industry and the Education Division                  

Guidelines for Nominators

  • Nominations open on 01 October and close on 15 January 
  • Both RSC members and non-members can nominate for this award 
  • Self-nomination is permitted for teams
  • Individuals may not nominate themselves
  • The award is open to nominees based in the UK or Republic of Ireland only 
  • Individuals or teams based in chemical sciences industry can be nominated          

To make a nomination please use our online awards nominations system. If you are an RSC member, please make sure you have the membership number to hand before accessing the online system.

During the application process you will be required to provide:

  • A supporting statement (up to 4500 characters for individual nominations and 7500 for team nominations, not including spaces) addressing the selection criteria below   
  • One page CV for the nominee, which should include a summary of education and career (does not apply to team nominations)         

When nominating recent Prize or Award winners, please remember that a person cannot be rewarded twice for substantially the same body of work.

The RSC reserves the right to rescind any Prize or Award if there is reasonable grounds to do so. All nominators will be asked to confirm that, to the best of their knowledge, there is no confirmed or potential impediment to their nominee receiving this prize/award related to their professional standing. Our Professional Practice and Code of Conduct can be referred to as a guide on expected standards.

Downloadable Files

PDF files require Link icon Adobe Acrobat Reader

Selection Criteria for RSC Awards

Our selection committees base their evaluations primarily on the overall quality of relevant contributions made by nominees and not simply on quantitative measures.

The selection committee(s) will consider the following aspects of all nominations as appropriate:

  • The scale of nominee's achievements and impact generated by their work
  • The approach taken
  • The length of the involvement in promotion of science and STEM careers to the community
  • The publicity generated by the nominee's work     

Selection panel

  • Roy Sandbach, Newcastle University (Chair)
  • Jacquin Wilford-Brown, AkzoNobel
  • Mark Gronnow, Biorenewables Development Centre
  • Keith Layden, Croda
  • Christian Jones, Nanoform
  • Alexander Alanine, Nanna Therapeutics    

Education Division Awards Committee

  • Simon Lancaster, University of East Anglia (Chair)
  • Sheeba Viswarajan, University of East London
  • Sarah Hayes, University of Limerick
  • Dylan Williams, University of Leicester
  • Trevor Carey, University College Cork
  • Susan Weavers, Newham Collegiate

Previous Winners

2018 Inspiration & Industry Award Winner

Project M, Diamond Light Source

Inspiration & Industry Award 2017 Winner

Henry Kelly, GSK

Inspiration & Industry Award 2016 Winner

Centre for Industry Education Collaboration, University of York

Inspiration and Industry Award 2014 Winner

Professor Peter Dowding, Infineum UK Ltd

Submit your nomination

Related Links

Link icon Submit your nomination online
Deadline for nominations is 15 January 2020. Your nomination can be saved and completed at any time.

External links will open in a new browser window

Contact and Further Information

Royal Society of Chemistry, Thomas Graham House, Cambridge Science Park, Milton Road, Cambridge, CB4 0WF
Tel: +44 (0)1223 420066