Liversidge Award

The Liversidge Award is in recognition of outstanding contributions to physical chemistry.  The lecture should describe new research and should point out the direction in which further research in physical chemistry is desirable. This Award changed to run in odd years from 2017.

2019 Winner

Professor Majed Chergui

2019 Liversidge Award Winner

Professor Majed Chergui, Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

General information

  • Run biennially - Closed
  • The winner receives £2000, a medal and a certificate
  • The winner will complete a UK lecture tour  
  • The winner will be chosen by the Faraday Division Awards Committee        

Guidelines for Nominators

  • Only RSC Members can nominate for this award
  • Nominees may NOT nominate themselves
  • The award is open to nominees based in the UK or internationally
  • There are no age restrictions associated with this award 
  • Work completed in the last 10 years will be given particular consideration
  • When nominating previous RSC prize or award winners, please remember that a person cannot be awarded twice for substantially the same body of work    

To make a nomination please use our online awards nominations system to submit the following:

  • Your name, contact details, and membership number (please contact the RSC Membership team if you do not know your membership details)
  • The nominee's name and contact details 
  • An up to date CV for the nominee (no longer than one A4 side, 11pt text) which should include a summary of their education and career, a list of 5 relevant publications, total numbers of publications and patents (if appropriate) and website URL if relevant
  • A supporting statement (up to 4500 characters, not including spaces) addressing the selection criteria 
  • A short citation describing what the nominee should be awarded for. This must be no longer than 250 characters (not including spaces) and ideally no longer than one sentence
  • References are not required for this award and will not be accepted    

The RSC reserves the right to rescind any Prize or Award if there is reasonable grounds to do so. All nominators will be asked to confirm that, to the best of their knowledge, there is no confirmed or potential impediment to their nominee receiving this prize/award related to their professional standing. Our Professional Practice and Code of Conduct can be referred to as a guide on expected standards.

Downloadable Files

PDF files require Link icon Adobe Acrobat Reader

Selection Criteria for RSC Awards

Our selection committees base their evaluations primarily on the overall quality of relevant contributions made by nominees and not simply on quantitative measures.

The selection committee(s) will consider the following aspects of all nominations for scientific research Awards as appropriate:

  • Originality of research
  • Impact of research
  • Quality of publications and/or patents and/or software
  • Innovation
  • Professional standing
  • Collaborations and teamwork
  • Other indicators of esteem indicated by the nominee/nominator    

Faraday Division Awards Committee

  • Claire Vallance, University of Oxford (Chair)
  • Artem Bakulin, Imperial College London
  • Graham Hutchings, Cardiff University
  • Klaas Wynne, University of Glasgow
  • Sam Stranks, University of Cambridge
  • Helen Fielding, University College London
  • Maria Sanz, King's College London

Previous Winners

Liversidge Award Previous Winners

1928 - present

History of the Award

The Liversidge award (previously the Liversidge lectureship) commemorates the name of Professor Archibald Liversidge, a benefactor of the then-named Chemical Society. As per the terms of the bequest the original lectureship, founded in 1927, aimed to disseminate new knowledge, with research in the field of physical chemistry being preferred.

Liversidge, born in 1846 in Turnham Green, London, went on to study science at the Royal College of Chemistry and the Royal School of Mines.  After a period at the Royal School of Navy Architecture as a chemistry instructor he moved to Christ's College, Cambridge, where he demonstrated in the laboratories and obtained his MA.  In 1872 Liversidge took up the post of Professor of Chemistry and Mineralogy at the University of Sydney.  He was instrumental in the opening of a new faculty of Science, for which he was the first Dean from 1879 until his retirement in 1907, and is one of few who admitted women to the university.  By the time he retired the chemistry department had grown to include seven lecturers and demonstrators and 200 students.

A keen advocate of investigative teaching methods Liversidge sat on the original Board of Technical Education.  One of his main priorities was to raise the standard and recognition of secondary and tertiary education.  Also keen to promote science as widely as possible he became a trustee of the Australian Museum, founded the Australian Association for the Advancement of Science, of which he was President from 1897, and created the Sydney section of the Society of Chemical Industry, for which he was chairman (1903-5).  Other important offices held by Liversidge were Vice-President of the Society of Chemical Industry (1909-12) and Chemical Society (1910-13).

One of Liversidge's major scientific publications, The Minerals of New South Wales, highlighted his main scientific interest.  His research into dusts of meteoric origin led him to be one of the first to detect gold and platinum in such material.  Throughout his research career he contributed over 100 papers to the Chemical Society, the Royal Society and the Royal Society of New South Wales.

Contact and Further Information

Royal Society of Chemistry, Thomas Graham House, Cambridge Science Park, Milton Road, Cambridge, CB4 0WF
Tel: +44 (0)1223 420066