Organic Industrial Chemistry Award

The Organic Industrial Chemistry Award is for the development and application of organic chemistry in an industrial context by a person or team.

2019 Winner

Dr Martin Eastgate

2019 Organic Industrial Chemistry Award Winner

Dr Martin Eastgate, Bristol-Myers Squibb

General information

  • Runs biennially - Closed
  • The winner receives 2000, a medal and a certificate
  • The winner will complete a UK lecture tour 
  • The winner will be chosen by the Organic Division Awards Committee     

Guidelines for Nominators

  • Nominations open on 01 October
  • Nominations close on 15 January 
  • Both RSC Members and non-members can nominate for this award
  • Nominees may NOT nominate themselves
  • Both teams and individuals can be nominated
  • The award is open to nominees based in the UK or internationally
  • There are no age restrictions associated with this award
  • When nominating previous RSC prize or award winners, please remember that a person cannot be awarded twice for substantially the same body of work   

To make a nomination please use our online awards nominations system  to submit the following:

  • Your name, contact details, and membership number (please contact the RSC Membership team if you do not know your membership details)
  • The nominee's name and contact details 
  • An up to date CV for the nominee (no longer than one A4 side, 11pt text) which should include their date of birth, summary of education and career, a list of 5 relevant publications, total numbers of publications and patents (if appropriate) and website URL if relevant (not applicable for team nominations)
  • A supporting statement  (up to 4500 characters for individual nominations and 7500 for team nominations, not including spaces) addressing the selection criteria
  • A short citation describing what the nominee should be awarded for. This must be no longer than 250 characters (not including spaces) and ideally no longer than one sentence 
  • References are not required for this award and will not be accepted

Selection Criteria for RSC Awards

Our selection committees base their evaluations primarily on the overall quality of relevant contributions made by nominees and not simply on quantitative measures.

The selection committee will consider the following aspects of all nominations as appropriate:

  • The impact of the contribution(e.g. the technical, environmental, social or monetary benefits arising from the work
  • Collaboration and teamwork. For team nominations, please provide evidence of effective teamwork (including magnitude of effort, team size, contributions made by each party, team makeup)
  • Supporting patents and/or publications and/or other indicators of excellence

Organic Division Awards Committee

  • Chris Willis, University of Bristol (Chair)
  • John Murphy, University of Strathclyde
  • Elaine O'Reilly, The University of Nottingham
  • David Procter, The University of Manchester
  • Steven Marsden, University of Leeds
  • Andrew C Williams, Eli Lilly and Company Limited  

Previous Winners

Organic Industrial Chemistry Award Previous Winners

2009 - present

Contact and Further Information

Royal Society of Chemistry, Thomas Graham House, Cambridge Science Park, Milton Road, Cambridge, CB4 0WF
Tel: +44 (0)1223 420066