Organic Stereochemistry Award 2011 Winner

Ben Feringa
University of Groningen

Awarded for his crucial achievements in the fields of stereochemistry, asymmetric catalysis and molecular motors.

About the Winner

Ben L. Feringa obtained his PhD degree in 1978 at the University of Groningen in the Netherlands under the guidance of Professor Hans Wynberg. After working as a research scientist at Shell in the Netherlands and the UK, he was appointed lecturer and in 1988 full professor at the University of Groningen and named the Jacobus H. van't Hoff Distinguished Professor of Molecular Sciences in 2004. 

He was elected Foreign Honoury member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and member of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Sciences. In 2008 he was appointed Academy Professor and was knighted by Her Majesty the Queen of the Netherlands.

Feringa's research has been recognized with a number of awards including the Koerber European Science Award, the Spinoza Award (the highest scientific distinction in the Netherlands, 2004), the Prelog gold medal (2005), the Norris Award of the ACS (2007), the Paracelsus medal (2008) and the Chirality medal (2009). Feringa is currently director of the Stratingh Institute for Chemistry and the Center for Systems Chemistry at the University of Groningen. The research interest includes stereochemistry, organic synthesis, asymmetric catalysis, molecular switches and motors, self-assembly and molecular systems. 

Related Links

Link icon The Feringa Group
Synthetic Organic Chemistry, University of Groningen

External links will open in a new browser window