2019 Soft Matter and Biophysical Chemistry Award Winner

Professor Michael Rubinstein

Professor Michael Rubinstein

Duke University


Awarded for physicochemical insights into soft matter behaviour relevant to respiratory dysfunction.


About the Winner

Michael Rubinstein received a B.S. from Caltech in 1979 and a Ph.D. in physics from Harvard University in 1983. After two years as a post-doc at AT&T Bell Laboratories, he joined Research Laboratories of Eastman Kodak Company where he worked for 10 years. In 1995 Michael Rubinstein started his academic career at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and in 2018 he moved to Duke University where he is currently on the faculty of Departments of Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science, Biomedical Engineering, Physics, and Chemistry.  In 1998 Michael Rubinstein was Visiting Professor at College de France and in 2013 he was awarded Michelin Science Chair at ESPCI. In 2016 Rubinstein became a Distinguished Professor at Hokkaido University. In 2003 he published a textbook "Polymer Physics" with R. H. Colby. In 2004 Michael Rubinstein was a co-chair of the Gordon Research Conference on Macromolecular, Colloidal and Polyelectrolyte Solutions. In 2008-2009 he was a Chair of the Division of Polymer Physics of the American Physical Society. Michael Rubinstein served as Chair of the Editorial Board of Soft Matter and as Associate Editor of Macromolecules. In 2010 he received the Polymer Physics Prize of the American Physical Society. Rubinstein is currently serving as the Chair of the IUPAP Working Group on Soft Matter. In 2018 he received the Bingham Medal of the Society of Rheology.

Related Links

External links will open in a new browser window