Stephanie L Kwolek Award 2012 Winner

Professor Robert Cava
Professor Robert Cava
Princeton University

For outstanding contributions to the understanding of the electronic structure and magnetic properties of solid state inorganic materials.

About the Winner

Robert Cava is the Russell Wellman Moore Professor of Chemistry at Princeton University, and former chair of the Chemistry Department. His research in the chemistry of materials emphasizes the relationships between chemistry, crystal structure, and electronic and magnetic properties of non-molecular solids. Superconductors, magnetic materials, thermoelectrics, topological insulators, geometrically frustrated magnets, and correlated electron systems are of particular current interest.

He began at Princeton in 1997 after working at Bell Laboratories for 17 years, where he was a Distinguished Member of Technical Staff. He received his Ph.D. in Ceramics from MIT in 1978, after which he was a Postdoctoral Fellow at the National Institute of Standards and Technology. He is a Fellow of the American Physical Society, the American Ceramic Society, and the Neutron Scattering Society of America, and a member of the US National Academy of Sciences.

He has been recipient of the Inorganic Chemistry and New Materials Prizes of the American Chemical Society, the McGroddy Prize in New Materials from the American Physical Society, a Humboldt Foundation Research Award, a Medal of Remembrance from the University of Gdansk, the De-Shalit Memorial Lectureship at the Weizmann Institute, a Villum Foundation Visiting Foreign Professorship in Denmark, the R.J.P. Williams Lectureship at Oxford University, and the John J. Carty Award for the Advancement of Science from the US National Academy of Sciences.

At Princeton, he has been a recipient of the President's Award for Distinguished Teaching, the Phi Beta Kappa Teaching Award and three teaching awards from the Princeton Engineering Council.

Related Links

Link icon Cava Lab
Professor Cava's Solid State Chemistry Research Group

External links will open in a new browser window