Synthetic Organic Chemistry Award 2007 Winner

Synthetic Organic Chemistry Award current winner, Richard Taylor
Richard Taylor FRSC CChem
University of York, UK

Awarded for his excellent contributions to natural product synthesis and synthetic methodology, particularly his work on tandem oxidation processes.

About the Winner

Richard Taylor graduated from the University of Sheffield and then carried out his PhD under the supervision of Dr D Neville Jones working in the area of thiasteroid synthesis. He carried out postdoctoral periods with Dr Ian T Harrison (Syntex Research) and Professor Franz Sondheimer, University College London.

In 1975 he was appointed to a lectureship at the Open University in Milton Keynes and in 1979 moved to the University of East Anglia, Norwich (lecturer then SL then Reader). In 1993, Richard was appointed to a Chair of Organic Chemistry at the University of York. 

His research interests centre on the synthesis of bioactive natural products and the development of new synthetic methodology. 

Richard Taylor's awards include the Royal Society of Chemistry's Hickinbottom Fellowship (1985-87), Heterocyclic Award (1999), the Tilden Medal (1999/2000) and the Pedler Lectureship (2006/2007).

Richard Taylor is a past President of the RSC Organic Division, President-Elect of the International Society of Heterocyclic Chemistry (President 2009-2011), and the current UK Regional Editor of Tetrahedron.

Related Links

Link icon Richard Taylor's homepage
Department of Chemistry at the University of York, UK

External links will open in a new browser window