Rising Star in Industry Award

The Rising Star in Industry Award (previously the Young Industrialist of the Year) recognises individuals who have created significant impact in the chemical industry, in the early stages of their careers.

2019 Winner

Dr Alex Reip

2019 Rising Star in Industry Award Winner

Dr Alexander Reip, Oxford nanoSystems Ltd

General information

  • Runs annually
  • The award winner will be chosen by an independent selection panel 

Guidelines for nominators

  • Nominations open on 01 October and close on 15 January
  • Both RSC members and non-members can nominate
  • Nominees may NOT  nominate themselves
  • The award is open to nominees based in the UK and internationally 
  • Nominees should be an early career scientist working in industry, typically with no more than 10 years of full-time equivalent professional experience. 
  • This should be experience gained as part of a scientific career excluding time spent in full-time education. Time spent as a postgraduate student should not be included e.g. Masters, PhD. Time spent as a post-doctoral researcher should be included. 
  • Nominators will be asked to provide details of the nominee's professional experience, in relation to the above criteria.   
  • Career breaks will be recognised, and applications are particularly encouraged from those whose career has spanned a break due to caring responsibilities or personal circumstances e.g. a period of parental/adoption leave, family commitments, illness, or other exceptional circumstances. 


To make a nomination please use our online awards nominations system. If you are an RSC member please make sure you have the membership number to hand before accessing the online system.

During the application process you will be asked to provide:

  • One page supporting statement (up to 4500 characters, not including spaces) addressing the selection criteria below 
  • One page CV for the nominee, which should include a summary of education and career. 
  • Names and contact details of two referees, who could provide a reference for the nominee. The referees do not have to be RSC members.   

When nominating recent Prize or Award winners, please remember that a person cannot be rewarded twice for substantially the same body of work.


The RSC reserves the right to rescind any Prize or Award if there is reasonable grounds to do so. All nominators will be asked to confirm that, to the best of their knowledge, there is no confirmed or potential impediment to their nominee receiving this prize/award related to their professional standing. Our Professional Practice and Code of Conduct can be referred to as a guide on expected standards.

Downloadable Files

PDF files require Link icon Adobe Acrobat Reader

Selection Criteria for RSC Awards

Our selection committees base their evaluations primarily on the overall quality of relevant contributions made by nominees and not simply on quantitative measures.

The selection committee(s) will consider the following aspects of all nominations as appropriate:

  • The scale of the nominee's achievements and contribution to the business
  • The approach taken
  • The impact generated by their work (including saving or benefits derived from the their contribution)

Guidelines for Referees

  • The awards system will contact referees to inform them that they must provide reports (of up to 4500 characters, not including spaces) by 31 January.
  • We will contact nominators and referees of nominees with outstanding references after one week after close of nominations on 15 January once only.
  • Referees must state their relationship (if any) with the nominee and note any conflicts of interest.     

Selection panel

  • Roy Sandbach, Newcastle University (Chair)
  • Jacquin Wilford-Brown, AkzoNobel
  • Mark Gronnow, Biorenewables Development Centre
  • Keith Layden, Croda
  • Christian Jones, Johnson Matthey
  • Alexander Alanine, Nanna Therapeutics   

Previous Winners

2018 Rising Star in Industry Award Winner

Dr Andrew Pollard, National Physical Laboratory

Rising Star in Industry Award 2017 Winner

Jeremy Besnard, Exscientia Ltd

Young Industrialist of the Year Award 2016 Winner

Angela Symington, BP

Young Industrialist of the Year Award 2015 Winner

Dr Charlotte Hardy, GlaxoSmithKline

Submit your nomination

Related Links

Link icon Submit your nomination online
Deadline for nominations is 15 January 2020. Your nomination can be saved and completed at any time.

External links will open in a new browser window

Contact and Further Information

Royal Society of Chemistry, Thomas Graham House, Cambridge Science Park, Milton Road, Cambridge, CB4 0WF
Tel: +44 (0)1223 420066