Research Councils

There are seven research councils responsible for promoting and supporting basic, strategic and applied research for the UK. The UK research councils are autonomous, non-departmental public bodies principally funded from the science budget received from the Office of Science and Technology. They support research, study and training in universities and other higher education establishments, their own institutes and international research centres.

Each year the Research Councils invest around 2.8 billion in research covering the full spectrum of academic disciplines from the medical and biological sciences to astronomy, physics, chemistry and engineering, social sciences, economics, environmental sciences and the arts and humanities.

Use the link on this page to find out more.

Related Links

Link icon Research Councils
The strategic partnership of the UK's seven Research Councils

External links will open in a new browser window