



RSC Organic Chemistry Community South-West Regional Meeting 17th May 2023

The RSC Organic Chemistry Community South-West Regional Meeting was held on 17th May 2023, hosted by the University of Reading, Department of Chemistry. The event was well attended with 52 delegates from both academia (University of Reading, University of Bath, University of Bristol, Cardiff University, University College London, University of Oxford, University of Southampton) and industry (Asynt, Julabo, Dixon Science and Buchi).

The first session was chaired by Dr John Mckendrick (University of Reading) and was opened with a lecture from Professor Jonathan Burton (University of Oxford) entitled 'Adventures in natural product chemistry'. Dr Gregory Perry (University of Southampton) followed with a talk entitled 'Dual-Function Reagents for Carboxylation'. Dr Sarah Allman (University of Reading) closed the session with a talk titled 'Integrating workflows for the structural and functional analysis of carbohydrates'.

The second session was chaired by Dr Chris Smith (University of Reading) and began with a talk by Dr Josh Tibbetts (University of Bath) on 'Building a Terpene-Based Biorefinery'. This was followed by a talk by Dr Beatrice Collins (University of Bristol) on 'Iterative C-H Functionalisation for Processive Directionally Sequential Catalysis'. Session two closed with a presentation by Dr Guto Rhys (Cardiff University) on 'Exploring new folds and functions based on polypeptides'.

The final session was chaired by Professor Laurence Harwood (University of Reading) with Dr Louis Morrill (Cardiff University) giving the Hickinbottom Award Prize Lecture entitled, 'Sustainable Methodologies for Synthesis'.

Twelve delegates presented posters during the meeting. The posters were judged by a panel of Dr Louis Morrill (Cardiff University), Susannah Coote (University of Bath), Dr Chris Smith and Dr John Mckendrick (both University of Reading). First prize was awarded to Oliver Bayley (University of Bristol) for his poster titled, 'A New Class of Single-Bond Rotor'. Second prize was awarded to Shaun Gartland (University of Oxford) for his poster titled, 'Photocaged Cationophores for Red-Light Activated Zn(II) Transport'.









fluorochem.