Follow us and stay in touch





f ¥ ₩ 8+

## Organic Division: Carbohydrate Group Newsletter, December 2013

# Organic Division: Carbohydrate Group Newsletter, December 2013

Chair: Prof Jerry Turnbull Institute of Integrative Biology Biosciences Building University of Liverpool Liverpool L69 7ZB, Tel: +44 (0)151 7954427 E-mail: Jerry Turnbull Secretary: Prof Rob Field Department of Biological Chemistry John Innes Centre Norwich Research Park Norwich NR4 7UH, UK Tel: +44 (0)1603 450720 E-mail: Rob Field

#### Web Site:

#### Season's Greetings to all our members

The Group continues to run a vibrant programme of meetings, with opportunities to meet the leading figures in glycoscience. All Group meeting programmes have slots available for oral presentations selected from abstracts, in order to provide opportunities for the younger members of the community to present their latest discoveries.

We hope to see many of you at our forthcoming events in 2014.

A Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to All.

#### 2014 RSC Haworth Memorial Lectureship

Nominations for the above award are now open. Founded in 1969 in commemoration of Nobel Prize recipient Sir Norman Haworth, this lecture deals with advances in any area of carbohydrate chemistry. It is awarded in recognition of sustained, internationally recognized contributions to carbohydrate chemistry. The recipient, who receives £500 and an engraved bronze medal, is invited to give an award lecture at one of the Group's meetings. Details of previous recipients of this award can be found on the <u>RSC web site</u>.

In order to make a nomination for this award you will need to supply:

- Your name and contact details (you must be an RSC member in order to submit a nomination)
- The candidate's name and contact details
- A supporting statement of no longer than one A4 side of 11 pt text
- A one page CV for the candidate, which should include their date of birth, website URL, summary of education and career, a list of five relevant publications and total numbers of publications and patents.

Further details can be found on the <u>RSC website</u>:

Nominations should be sent to Rob Field by 31 January 2014.

#### **Committee Membership**

This year has seen several changes on the Committee. We thank Carmen Galan for her invaluable support. Rob Field has taken over a Secretary, with Matthew Gibson taking on the role of

Treasurer. The Committee welcomes: Carmen Pires (University of Kent) and Gavin Miller (University of Manchester), representing the PhD student and Postdoc communities respectively, and Charlie Bavington (Glycomar) providing industrial insight. As Committee membership turns over regularly, we are always keen to hear from individuals who would like to get involved in shaping the future of the group, its' interaction with other RSC groups and with the wider scientific community are welcome to contact either Jerry Turnbull or Rob Field.

#### **Group Meetings**

The Group held several very successful meetings during 2013, including:

- The Younger Members meeting in London, hosted by Matt Gibson, provided an opportunity for PhD students, postdocs and younger faculty to present short oral presentations and posters. The Buchanan award was awarded to Kate Bowman, University of East Anglia.
- The Group Spring Meeting was incorporated into the European Young Investigators Workshop, hosted by Bruce Turnbull and Carmen Galan in Berlin.
- The Group Autumn meeting, held jointly with the RSC Fluorine group, was hosted at Southampton by Bruno Linclau. This meeting included the RSC Carbohydrate Award lecture, sponsored by Dextra, which was delivered by Bruce Turnbull, University of Leeds.

Thanks to all for organisation, participation and sponsorship.

Following a similar format for 2014, the Group will be holding meetings as follows:

#### Younger Members meeting, University of York, 24 March 2014

Host: Gideon Davies

Main speakers: Gideon Davies, Martin Fascione, Alison Hulme.

Please note: the majority of the program will consist of short flash presentations selected from abstracts. The Buchanan award will be given for the best of these presentations, which will also be selected for a longer oral presentation at the Bath meeting (below). Registration for the meeting is necessary, but is free of charge. To receive further details as soon as they become available, please email <u>Rob Field</u>.

#### Spring Meeting, University of Bath, 30 April-1 May 2014

Hosts: Tony James and Steve Bull.

Main speakers: Jean van den Elsen, Jim Naismith, Tony Davis, Andy Watts, Jonathan Percy, Max Crispin, Jingzhi Sun, Sabine Flitsch, Steve Eichhorn, Barry Potter.

Further details of the programme and registration arrangements will be available here:

### Autumn Meeting, Warwick University, 3-5 September 2014

Host: Matthew Gibson

Please keep these dates in your diary. Further details will be available in Spring 2014.

Details of the Group Younger Members and Spring meetings for 2015 will be available in mid 2014. Next Carbohydrate Group Committee Meeting

The next Group committee meeting will be held in during the Spring meeting in Bath. If you have items that you would like to bring to the attention of the committee or for the AGM agenda, please contact either <u>Jerry Turnbull</u> or <u>Rob Field</u>.



