Organic Division: Carbohydrate Group Newsletter, May 2017

Chair: Prof. Bruce Turnbull School of Chemistry, University of Leeds Tel: +44 (0)113 3437438 Email: W.B.Turnbull@leeds.ac.uk *Secretary*: Dr. M. Carmen Galan, School Chemistry University of Bristol Tel: +44 (0)9287654 E-mail: m.c.galan@bris.ac.uk

WebSite:

http://www.rsc.org/Membership/Networking/InterestGroups/Carbohydrate/index.asp

Welcome to the Spring newsletter for the Carbohydrate Group.

RSC Dextra Carbohydrate Chemistry Award

Dr. M. Carmen Galan has been awarded the 2017 Royal Society of Chemistry Carbohydrate Chemistry Award sponsored by Dextra Labs, in recognition of her research into new synthetic methodologies for oligosaccharide synthesis and the development of novel glycoconjugate probes to study cellular processes.

Dr Galan is a Reader in Organic and Biological Chemistry at the University of Bristol where she holds an ERC Consolidator award and an EPSRC Career Acceleration Fellowship. She undertook her PhD with Prof Geert-Jan Boons at the Complex Carbohydrate Research Centre in Georgia, USA before postdoctoral studies with Prof Chi-Huey Wong (Scripps Research Center) and Prof Sarah O'Connor (MIT). Dr Galan is a member of editorial advisory boards for Organic and Biomolecular Chemistry, RSC Advances and the editorial boards of Carbohydrate Research and Nature Scientific Reports. She also represents the United Kingdom in the International Carbohydrate Organisation.

Dr Galan will present her award lecture at the RSC Carbohydrate Group Autumn meeting in Dublin (September 7-8 2017) where she will be presented with a silver medal.

Annual Autumn Meeting

Trinity College Dublin. 7-8th of September 2017.

Hosts: Prof. Eoin M. Scanlan, Dr. Eoghan McGarrigle and Dr. Trinidad Velasco-Torrijos

The annual meeting of the RSC Carbohydrate Group will take place in the Trinity Biomedical Sciences Institute in the centre of Dublin city in September of this year. There will be presentations from an exciting mix of young and established researchers from both academia and industry working in the field of carbohydrate research. The meeting will include plenary lectures from **Prof Geert Jan Boons** and **Dr. M. Carmen Galan** (RSC Carbohydrate award winner). Details for registration and submission of poster abstracts will be available soon.

Annual General Meeting

The AGM this year will be held during the Annual Autumn meeting in Dublin. See further details above.

Committee Membership

As part of the formal rotation of Committee membership, we are now seeking nominations for the posts of Chair, Treasurer and PhD/PDRA representative. Additional ordinary members may also be co-opted onto the committee. Individuals wishing to be considered for election please contact <u>Prof. Bruce Turnbull</u> by **31 August 2017**. Candidates will be formally elected to the above positions during the AGM.

Haworth Memorial Lectureship 2018

Nominations are invited for the 2018 <u>Haworth Memorial Lectureship</u>. Founded in 1969 in commemoration of Sir Norman Haworth (President of the Chemical Society 1944-46), this lecture deals with advances in any area of carbohydrate chemistry, and is usually delivered during the Carbohydrate Chemistry Group's autumn meeting. It is awarded in recognition of sustained, internationally recognized contributions to carbohydrate chemistry.

Nominations should be made to the Carbohydrate Group Secretary by **15 January 2018**. In line with other RSC awards, nominations should adhere to the following format:

- Your name, contact details, and membership number
- The nominee's name and contact details
- An up to date CV for the candidate (no longer than one A4 side, 11pt text) which should include a summary of their education and career, a list of 5 relevant publications, total numbers of publications and patents (if appropriate) and website URL if relevant
- A supporting statement (up to 4500 characters, not including spaces)
- A short citation describing what the nominee should be awarded for ideally no longer than one sentence
- References are **not required** for this prize and will not be accepted

Decisions will be made by an independent award selection committee appointed by the RSC Carbohydrate Group Chair. The award selection committee will be drawn from past Chairs of the RSC Carbohydrate Group, past award recipients and other scientists of international standing in the field.

If you have items that you would like to bring to the attention of the committee, please contact either M. Carmen Galan or Bruce Turnbull.

We look forward to seeing as many of you as possible at future events.