Supporting information for

Planar, narrowband, and tunable photodetection in the nearinfrared with Au/TiO₂ nanodiodes based on Tamm plasmons

Tong Yu,^{a,b} Cheng Zhang,^{a,b*} Huimin Liu,^{a,b} Jianhui Liu,^{a,b} Ke Li,^c Linling Qin,^{a,b} and Shaolong Wu^{a,b*}

^aSchool of Optoelectronic Science and Engineering & Collaborative Innovation Center of Suzhou Nano Science and Technology, Soochow University, Suzhou 215006, China;

^bKey Lab of Advanced Optical Manufacturing Technologies of Jiangsu Province & Key Lab of Modern Optical Technologies of Education Ministry of China, Soochow University, Suzhou 215006, China; ^cWenzheng College of Soochow University, Suzhou 215104, China;

Details on the Metal-Semiconductor Carrier Injection Model

Upon the absorption of photons with energy E_{ph} , an electron with energy $E - E_{ph}$ below the Fermi level is promoted to a higher energy state *E*. The hot-electron initial energy distribution is described by the product of the electron density of state (EDOS) and the respective Fermi functions at the initial and final states [S1, S2].

$$D(E) = \frac{\rho(E - E_{\rm ph})f(E - E_{\rm ph})\rho(E)[1 - f(E)]}{\int_0^\infty \rho(E - E_{\rm ph})f(E - E_{\rm ph})\rho(E)[1 - f(E)]dE}$$
(S1)

where $\rho(E-h\upsilon) [\rho(E)]$ is the EDOS at the initial [final] energy level, and $f(E-h\upsilon) [f(E)]$ is the corresponding Fermi distribution function. Taking into account the resistive loss ($\eta_{res} = 0.4$ [S3]) of the absorbed energy without the generation of hot electrons, the spatial distribution of the hot-electron generation rate (*G*) can be obtained as [S4]:

$$G(z,\omega) = (1 - \eta_{\rm res})\varepsilon_i |E(z,\omega)|^2 / (2\hbar)$$
(S2)

where ω is the angular frequency, ε_i is the imaginary part of the permittivity, \hbar is the reduced Planck constant, *E* is the electric field. Based on the exponential attenuation model and the assumption of an isotropic momentum distribution, the probability of an electron with energy *E* arriving at Schottky interface under the diffusing angle θ is evaluated by [S5]:

$$P_{etr}(E,\theta,z) = \begin{cases} \frac{1}{2} \exp\left(-\frac{d(z)}{l_{MFP}(E)\cos\theta}\right), & if -\frac{\pi}{2} < \theta < \frac{\pi}{2} \\ 0, & otherwise \end{cases}$$
(S3)

where *d* is the distance from the hot-electron initial positon to the Schottky interface and l_{MFP} is the energy-dependent mean free path of hot electrons [S3]. The flux of electrons N_{int} (*E*, θ) to reach the interface under an angle θ is:

$$N_{int}(E,\theta) = \int_0^{d_{\rm Au}} G(z) \times D(E) \times P_{etr}(E,\theta,z) dz$$
(S4)

Then, the injection efficiency is obtained as:

$$\eta_{inj}(E) = \frac{\int_0^{\Omega} 2\pi sin\theta d\theta \times N_{int}(E,\theta) \times T}{\int_0^{\frac{\pi}{2}} 2\pi sin\theta d\theta \times N_{int}(E,\theta)}$$
(S5)

where *T* is the electron transfer propabably under the diffusing angle θ across the interface considering the possible reflection at the Au/TiO₂ interface arising from the momentum mismatch in both media [S6].

Finally, the photocurrent density can be expressed as:

$$J = e \int_{\varphi_{SB}}^{\infty} \int_{-\frac{\pi}{2}}^{\frac{\pi}{2}} N_{int}(E,\theta) d\theta \times \eta_{inj}(E) dE$$
(S6)

More Information on Hot Electron Energy Collection and Loss Contribution

For clarity, we show how the data of the collection and loss contribution can be calculated with the optoelectronic model in detail [S7].

From the optical model, we get the optical absorption (*A*) in the metal, reflection (*R*) and transmission (*T*) of the hot-electron device.

 Considering the incident photon flux of N_{ph}, the optical reflection loss (N_{ph_ref}) and transmission loss (N_{ph_tra}) are:

$$N_{\rm ph_ref} = N_{\rm ph} \times R \tag{S7}$$

$$N_{\rm ph_tra} = N_{\rm ph} \times T \tag{S8}$$

2) The resistive dissipation loss $(N_{ph_{resis}})$ is:

$$N_{\rm ph_resis} = N_{\rm ph} \times A \times \eta_{res} \tag{S9}$$

where η_{res} is the efficiency of resistive loss of the absorbed energy.

The hot-electron generation flux $(N_{ph_{excited}})$ is:

$$N_{\rm ph_excited} = N_{\rm ph} \times A \times \eta_{eh} \tag{S10}$$

where η_{eh} is the efficiency of plasmonic decay into hot electrons.

 The thermalization loss (N_{ph_therm}) is the flux difference of hot electrons excited and reaching the interface:

$$N_{\rm ph_therm} = N_{\rm ph_excited} - \int_0^\infty \int_{-\frac{\pi}{2}}^{\frac{\pi}{2}} N_{int}(E,\theta) d\theta dE$$
(S11)

where N_{int} is the flux of electrons with excess energy *E* to reach the interface under an angle θ .

4) The barrier loss ($N_{ph_barrier}$) is the flux of hot electrons reaching the interface with excess energy $E < \varphi_{SB}$:

$$N_{\text{ph}_\text{barrier}} = \int_0^{\varphi_{SB}} \int_{-\frac{\pi}{2}}^{\frac{\pi}{2}} N_{int}(E,\theta) d\theta dE$$
(S12)

5) The flux of collected hot electrons (N_{tot_succ}) can be obtained as:

$$N_{\text{tot_succ}} = \int_{\varphi_{SB}}^{\infty} \int_{-\frac{\pi}{2}}^{\frac{\pi}{2}} N_{int}(E,\theta) d\theta \times \eta_{inj}(E) dE$$
(S13)

6) The momentum loss (N_{ph_momen}) is the flux difference of hot electrons reaching the interface with excess energy $E > \varphi_{SB}$ and collected:

$$N_{\text{ph}_{momen}} = \int_{\varphi_{SB}}^{\infty} \int_{-\frac{\pi}{2}}^{\frac{\pi}{2}} N_{int}(E,\theta) d\theta dE - \int_{\varphi_{SB}}^{\infty} \int_{-\frac{\pi}{2}}^{\frac{\pi}{2}} N_{int}(E,\theta) d\theta \times \eta_{inj}(E) dE \quad (S14)$$

Then each hot-electron collection and loss contribution can be obtained by dividing by N_{ph} . The above are the details on how to calculate the hot-electron collection and loss contribution in Fig. 5a and Fig. 5b.

References

- [S1] T. Gong and J. N. Munday, Opt. Mater. Express, 2015, 5, 2501–2512.
- [S2] T. P. White and K. R. Catchpole, App. Phys. Lett, 2012, 101, 073905.
- [S3] A. M. Brown, R. Sundararaman, P. Narang, W. A. Goddard III, and H. A. Atwater, ACS Nano, 2016, 10, 957–966.
- [S4] C. Zhang, K. Wu, V. Giannini, and X. Li, ACS Nano, 2017, 11, 1719–1727.
- [S5] T. Gong and J. N. Munday, Nano Lett., 2014, 15, 147–152.
- [S6] H. Chalabi, D. Schoen, and M. L. Brongersma, Nano Lett., 2014, 14, 1374–1380.
- [S7] C. Zhang, G. Cao, S. Wu, W. Shao, V. Giannini, S. A. Maier, and X. Li, *Nano Energy*, 2019, 55, 164–172.