Electronic Supplementary Material (ESI) for ChemComm. This journal is © The Royal Society of Chemistry 2015

Supporting Information Iron oxide cluster induced barrier–free conversion of nitric oxide to ammonia

Keisuke Takahashi*

Graduate School of Engineering, Hokkaido University, N-13, W-8, Sapporo 060-8278, Japan

(Dated: January 18, 2015)

I. SUPPORTING INFORMATION: COMPUTATIONAL METHOD

The grid-based projector-augmented wave (GPAW) method within the density functional theory is implemented [1]. The reactions over the gas phase Fe₄ are calculated within γ point where 10 Å of vacuum condition is applied for all directions. Finite difference mode within GPAW is implemented. The grid spacing is set to 0.18 Å and 0.00 eV of smearing is applied. The exchange correlation of PBE exchange is applied with spin polarization calculations [2].

The reactions over supported Fe₄ cluster calculations are done within periodic condition with 15 Å of vacuum in z direction. Linear combination of atomic orbitals method within GPAW is implemented for supported clusters [3]. $2 \times 2 \times 1$ k points within the Brillouin zone sampling coupled with the Monkhorst-Pack scheme is applied along 0.1 eV of smearing [4]. Grid spacing is set to 0.22 Å and the spin polarization calculation is also applied. vdW-DF exchange correlation is implemented for supported case as the effect of Van Der Waals forces play an important role within the graphene calculation [5, 6].

The ground state structure of gas phase and supported Fe_4 clusters are searched by implementing the basinhopping algorithm [7, 8]. Bader analysis is implemented for charge transfer analysis [9, 10]. Nudge elastic band method is implemented for calculating the activation barriers [11].

The adsorption energies (E_{ad}) of adsorbate on clusters is calculated by Equation (1):

$$E_{ad} = E(Cluster + Adsorbate) - E(Cluster) - E(Adsorbate)$$
(1)

Note that a negative sign indicates an exothermic reaction. The effect of the zero point energy of hydrogen is included in all cases.

- J. Mortensen, L. Hansen, and K. Jacobsen, Physical Review B 71, 035109 (2005).
- [2] J. P. Perdew, K. Burke, and M. Ernzerhof, Physical review letters 77, 3865 (1996).
- [3] A. H. Larsen, M. Vanin, J. J. Mortensen, K. S. Thygesen, and K. W. Jacobsen, Physical Review B 80, 195112 (2009).
- [4] H. J. Monkhorst and J. D. Pack, Physical Review B 13, 5188 (1976).
- [5] M. Dion, H. Rydberg, E. Schröder, D. C. Langreth, and B. I. Lundqvist, Physical review letters 92, 246401 (2004).
- [6] M. Vanin, J. J. Mortensen, A. Kelkkanen, J. M. Garcia-

Lastra, K. S. Thygesen, and K. W. Jacobsen, Physical Review B **81**, 081408 (2010).

- [7] K. Takahashi, S. Isobe, and S. Ohnuki, Applied Physics Letters 102, 113108 (2013).
- [8] K. Takahashi, Y. Wang, S. Chiba, Y. Nakagawa, S. Isobe, and S. Ohnuki, Scientific reports 4 (2014).
- [9] E. Sanville, S. D. Kenny, R. Smith, and G. Henkelman, Journal of Computational Chemistry 28, 899 (2007).
- [10] G. Henkelman, A. Arnaldsson, and H. Jónsson, Computational Materials Science 36, 354 (2006).
- [11] G. Henkelman, B. P. Uberuaga, and H. Jónsson, The Journal of Chemical Physics 113, 9901 (2000).

^{*}keisuke.takahashi@eng.hokudai.ac.jp