Duncan Bryant Award

When their Chairman, Dr Duncan Bryant, died in 2005 the committee of the RSC Molecular Spectroscopy Group decided that they would find an appropriate way of recording their gratitude to him and their affection for him. 

The result is the Duncan Bryant Prize (formerly the Duncan Bryant Memorial Prize) for young analytical scientists working or studying in the pharmaceutical sector.

The process for awarding the prize changes from award to award. The inaugural award of the Duncan Bryant Memorial Prize was made on Thursday 15 May 2008 at the GSK lecture theatre in Stevenage, when a selected group of young chemists presented lectures on topics in pharmaceutical analysis. 

The prize was awarded by a small committee for the “best” presentation taking into account scientific interest, preparation of the lecture and clarity of its presentation. The inaugural winner was Dr Paul T. Whiteside of Molecular Profiles Ltd for his lecture on “Quantification of low levels of amorphous lactose using hydrogen/deuterium exchange and FT-Raman spectroscopy”. The prize was a print of a picture commissioned by Duncan’s former employers, GlaxoSmithKline, representing different aspects of Duncan’s professional and personal life.

The Molecular Spectroscopy Group would like to thank GlaxoSmithKline once again for their generosity in commissioning and providing the prize.
Past Winners

  • Dr Paul T. Whiteside
  • Angelika Galezowska