Three awards are offered jointly by the RSC Colloid and Interface Science Group and the SCI Colloid and Surface Science Group.

McBain Medal

The McBain Award recognises the contribution of younger talent and was succeeded in 2006 by the McBain Medal. The Medal is awarded on an annual basis to an early career researcher.

Nominations are accepted from both RSC and SCI members. More information about nominations is available on the SCI website.

Past Winners

  • 2016 Dr Joao Cabral (Imperial)
  • 2015 Professor Giuse (UCL)
  • 2014 Professor Rachel O'Reilly (University of Warwick)
  • 2013 Dr Oren Scherman
  • 2012 Dr Vitaliy Khutoryanskiy
  • 2010 Dr Alex Routh
  • 2009 Dr Peter Dowdling
  • 2008 Dr Fernando Bresme
  • 2007 Professor Andrew Cooper 
  • 2006 Dr Julie MacPherson 

Thomas Graham Lecture

The lectureship is awarded triennually to an outstanding researcher in mid-career.

The 2014 Thomas Graham Lecture will be given by Professor Steven Armes of Dept of Chemistry, University of Sheffield. His Lecture, on the subject of 'Polymerisation-induced self-assembly via RAFT dispersion polymerisation', will be given as a plenary lecture at Colloids UK 2014, London, 6-9 July 2014.

Past Winner

  • 2017 Professor Joe Keddie (University of Surrey)
  • 2014 Professor Steven Armes (University of Sheffield)
  • 2011 Colin Bain 

Sir Eric Rideal Award and Lecture

The Rideal lecture (formerly known as the Founder's Lecture) became a joint Colloids group award in 2006 and is awarded to honour significant and sustained contribution to the field. Candidates need not be UK-based necessarily, but they will have had a sustained and significant connections with the UK colloid, interface and surface science community and a marked impact upon work in the UK.

Nominations are accepted from both RSC and SCI members. More information about nominations is available on the SCI website. 

Previous Winners

  • 2017  Prof Daan Frenkel, University of Cambridge
  • 2016  No Award
  • 2015  Prof Paul Luckham, Imperial College, London
  • 2014  Prof Dame Athene Donald, University of Cambridge 
  • 2013  Prof Jeff Penfold, Rutherford Appleton Laboratory
  • 2012  Prof Geoff Maitland
  • 2011  Dr Robert Thomas, University of Oxford
  • 2010  Prof Thomas W Healy, University of Melbourne
  • 2009  Prof Richard Buscall
  • 2008  Prof Julian Eastoe, Bristol University 
  • 2007  Alan Pitt, Kodak 
  • 2006  Prof Eric Dickinson, University of Leeds 
  • 2005  Dr James Goodwin, Bristol University 
  • 2004  Prof Terence Cosgrove, Bristol University 
  • 2003  Prof Brian H Robinson, East Anglia University 
  • 2002  Prof Helmut M√∂hwald, Max Planck Institute, Berlin
  • 2001  Prof J Pethica, Oxford University
  • 2000  Prof D Tildesley, Unilever PSL
  • 1999  Dr T D Blake Kodak
  • 1998  Prof J Gregory, University College London
  • 1997  Prof B Vincent, Bristol University
  • 1996  Prof A M Cazabat, College de France, Paris
  • 1995  Prof G J T Tiddy, UMIST
  • 1994  Prof B R Jennings, English China Clays 
  • 1993  Prof B J Briscoe, Imperial College
  • 1992  Prof H Sonntag, Max Planck Institute, Berlin
  • 1991  Dr Th F Tadros, ICI/Zeneca
  • 1990  Prof Sir Sam Edwards, Cambridge University 
  • 1989  Prof J D Birchall, ICI
  • 1988  Prof A I Bailey, Imperial College
  • 1987  Prof J Lyklema, Wageningen University
  • 1986  Prof Sir J M Thomas, Royal Institution, London 
  • 1985  Prof R H Ottewill, Bristol University
  • 1984  Prof J Th G Overbeek, Utrecht University
  • 1983  Prof D H Everett, Bristol University 
  • 1982  Prof K S W Sing, Brunel University 
  • 1981  Prof D Tabor, Cambridge University 
  • 1980  Prof R M Barrer, Imperial College 
  • 1979  Dr J A Kitchener, Imperial College 
  • 1978  Dr D A Haydon, Cambridge University 
  • 1977  Dr A D Bangham, Cambridge University 
  • 1976  Sir Harry Melville, London University 
  • 1975  Prof D D Eley, Nottingham University 
  • 1974  Prof D J Crisp 
  • 1973  Prof J T Davies, Birmingham University
  • 1972  M K Schwitzer 
  • 1971  Dr B A Pethica, Unilever PSL 
  • 1970  Prof J H De Boer, Delft Technological University  

Related Links

Link icon RSC Colloid and Interface Science Group Website
More information about Group activities

Link icon Society of Chemical Industry
SCI Colloid and Surface Chemistry Group Homepage

External links will open in a new browser window