S F Boys - A Rahman Award

The S F Boys - A Rahman Award is for outstanding innovative research in the area of computational chemistry, including both quantum chemistry and molecular simulations.

2017 Winner

Professor Gustavo Scuseria

S F Boys-A Rahman Award 2017 Winner

Professor Gustavo Scuseria, Rice University

General information

  • Run biennially - NOT OPEN for 2018 nominations
  • Award winner receives £2000, a medal and a certificate  
  • The winner will complete a UK lecture tour
  • The winner will be chosen by the Faraday Division Awards Committee 

Guidelines for Nominators

  • Nominations open on 01 October
  • Nominations close on 15 January
  • Only RSC Members can nominate for this award
  • Nominees may NOT nominate themselves
  • The award is open to nominees based in the UK or internationally
  • There are no age restrictions associated with this award 
  • Work completed in the last 10 years will be given particular consideration
  • When nominating previous RSC prize or award winners, please remember that a person cannot be awarded twice for substantially the same body of work

To make a nomination please use our online awards nominations system  to submit the following:

  • Your name, contact details, and membership number (please contact the RSC Membership team if you do not know your membership details)
  • The nominee's name and contact details 
  • An up to date CV for the nominee (no longer than one A4 side, 11pt text) which should include their date of birth, summary of education and career, a list of 5 relevant publications, total numbers of publications and patents (if appropriate) and website URL if relevant
  • A supporting statement (up to 4500 characters, not including spaces) addressing the selection criteria
  • A short citation describing what the nominee should be awarded for. This must be no longer than 250 characters (not including spaces) and ideally no longer than one sentence 
  • References are not required for this award and will not be accepted

Selection Criteria for RSC Awards

Our selection committees base their evaluations primarily on the overall quality of relevant contributions made by nominees and not simply on quantitative measures.

The selection committee(s) will consider the following aspects of all nominations for scientific research Awards as appropriate:

  • Originality of research
  • Impact of research
  • Quality of publications and/or patents and/or software
  • Innovation
  • Professional standing
  • Collaborations and teamwork
  • Other indicators of esteem indicated by the nominee/nominator   

Faraday Division Awards Committee

  • Eleanor Campbell (Chair), University of Edinburgh 
  • Cinzia Casiraghi, University of Manchester
  • Philipp Kukura, University of Oxford
  • Flemming Hansen, University College London
  • Józef Lewandowski, University of Warwick
  • Nguyen TK Thanh, University College London
  • Peter Bruce, University of Oxford 

Previous Winners

S F Boys-A Rahman Award Previous Winners

1990 - present

Contact and Further Information

Royal Society of Chemistry, Thomas Graham House, Cambridge Science Park, Milton Road, Cambridge, CB4 0WF
Tel: +44 (0)1223 420066