Inspiration and Industry Award

This award is given in recognition of an individual's or team's impact on the local or national community in relation to the promotion of science and STEM careers.

2017 Winner

General information

  • Runs annually
  • The winner receives a cash prize of 2000
  • The award winner will be chosen jointly by an independent expert panels from industry and education.                  

Guidelines for Nominators

  • Nominations open on 01 October and close on 15 January 
  • Both RSC members and non-members can nominate for this award 
  • Nominees may NOT nominate themselves
  • The award is open to nominees based in the UK or Republic of Ireland only 
  • Individuals or teams based in chemical sciences industry can be nominated       


To make a nomination please use our online awards nominations system. If you are an RSC member, please make sure you have the membership number to hand before accessing the online system.

During the application process you will be required to provide:

  • A supporting statement (up to 4500 characters for individual nominations and 7500 for team nominations, not including spaces) addressing the selection criteria below   
  • One page CV for the nominee, which should include a summary of education and career (does not apply to team nominations)      

When nominating recent Prize or Award winners, please remember that a person cannot be rewarded twice for substantially the same body of work.

Selection Criteria for RSC Awards

Our selection committees base their evaluations primarily on the overall quality of relevant contributions made by nominees and not simply on quantitative measures.

The selection committee(s) will consider the following aspects of all nominations as appropriate:

  • The scale of nominee's achievements and impact generated by their work
  • The approach taken
  • The length of the involvement in promotion of science and STEM careers to the community
  • The publicity generated by the nominee's work     

Selection panel

  • Bryan Hanley (KTN), Chair  
  • Jacquin Wilford Brown (AkzoNobel)
  • Julia Hatto (Independent)
  • Roy Sandbach (North East Local Enterprise Partnership)
  • Ian Bell (Afton Chemical) 
  • Martin Hanton (Sasol UK)  

Education Division Awards Committee

  • Gareth Price, University of Bath (Chair)    
  • Simon Lancaster, University of East Anglia
  • Peter Banks, The Purcell School 
  • Sheila Donegan, Waterford Institute of Technology
  • Karon Buck, Medway University Technical College 

Previous Winners

Inspiration & Industry Award 2016 Winner

Centre for Industry Education Collaboration, University of York

Inspiration and Industry Award 2014 Winner

Professor Peter Dowding, Infineum UK Ltd

Inspiration and Industry Award 2013 Winner

Dr Monika Papworth, MedImmune Ltd

Inspiration and Industry Award 2012 Winner

Lorelly Wilson, Lorelly Wilson Ltd

Contact and Further Information

Royal Society of Chemistry, Thomas Graham House, Cambridge Science Park, Milton Road, Cambridge, CB4 0WF
Tel: +44 (0)1223 420066