RSC - Advancing the Chemical Sciences

Science Activities


Marlow Award

The Marlow Award is in recognition of the most meritorious contributions to physical chemistry or chemical physics.

2013 Winner

Dr Andrew Goodwin

Marlow Award 2013 Winner

Dr Andrew Goodwin, University of Oxford

Rules and Criteria

  • Run annually
  • Open to UK and ROI only
  • Candidates are NOT permitted to nominate themselves
  • Candidates will ordinarily be eligible up to the tenth anniversary of the award of their PhD degree, and assessment will be based on work published during that time. (Candidates without a PhD must be 35 or below on the closing date.)  Appropriate consideration will be given to those who have taken career breaks or followed different study paths.
  • Name and contact details of two referees required should be provided by the nominator.  After the RSC office has acknowledged receipt of nomination, the nominator is responsible for informing the two referees that they must provide reports by 31 January. RSC will contact nominators and referees of candidates with outstanding references one week after close of nominations on 15 January once only. Referees may not include the candidate's post-doc or PhD supervisor  
  • One page CV for the candidate, which should include the details listed in the Information for Nominators of Awards, which can be viewed through the link on this page
  • A one page supporting statement addressing the selection criteria, which can be viewed through the link on this page
  • Nominations open 1 September 2013
  • Nominations close 15 January 2014
  • Award winner will be chosen by the Faraday Division Awards Committee
  • Award winner receives 2000, a medal and a certificate             

Previous Winners

Previous winners

A list of previous recipients of the Marlow Award, previously called the Marlow Medal and Prize.

Nomination Information

Make a Nomination

The nominations for 2014 will close on 15 January 2014

Guidelines for Nominators of Awards

Includes nomination requirements, selection procedure and timeframe information on making a nomination for an RSC Award