Rita and John Cornforth Award

The Rita and John Cornforth Award enables scientists working in collaborative research teams with both chemistry and the life sciences disciplines to be promoted and rewarded.

2015 Winner

Professor Ashcroft and Professor Radford

Rita and John Cornforth Award 2015 Winner

Professors Alison Ashcroft & Sheena Radford, Astbury Centre for Structural Molecular Biology, University of Leeds

General information

  • Run annually
  • Award winner receives 2000, a medal and a certificate
  • The winner will complete a UK lecture tour
  • Award winner will be chosen by the Chemistry Biology Interface Division Awards Committee

Guidelines for Nominators

  • Nominations open on 01 October 2015
  • Nominations close on 15 January 2016
  • Only RSC Members can nominate for the 2016 Prizes and Awards Main portfolio 
  • Candidates may NOT nominate themselves
  • Nominations must be for teams, rather than for individuals 
  • The award is open to teams based in the UK or internationally
  • When nominating recent Award and Prize winners, please remember that a person cannot be rewarded twice for substantially the same body of work          

To make a nomination please use our online awards nominations system to submit the following:

  • Your name, contact details, and membership number (please contact the RSC Membership team if you do not know your membership details)
  • The candidate's name and contact details
  • A short summary (no longer than one A4 side, 11pt text) including a description of the research team's background, a list of 5 relevant publications, total numbers of publications and patents (if appropriate) and website URL if relevant 
  • A supporting statement (no longer than one A4 side, 11pt text) addressing the selection criteria
  • A short citation describing what the nominee should be awarded for. This must be no longer than 250 characters (not including spaces) and ideally no longer than one sentence 
  • References are not required for this award        

Selection Criteria for RSC Awards

The selection committee(s) will consider the following aspects of all nominations for scientific research Awards as appropriate:

  • Originality of research
  • Impact of research
  • Quality of publications and/or patents and/or software
  • Innovation
  • Professional standing
  • Collaborations and teamwork
  • Other indicators of esteem indicated by the nominee/nominator

Previous Winners

Rita and John Cornforth Award Previous Winners

2008 - present

Chemistry Biology Interface Division Awards Committee

  • Tom Brown (Chair), University of Oxford
  • Patrick Steel, Durham University
  • Mike Page, University of Huddersfield
  • Rein Ulijn, University of Strathclyde
  • Kira Weissman, Lorraine University, France       

Contact and Further Information

Royal Society of Chemistry, Thomas Graham House, Milton Road, Science Park, Cambridge, CB4 0WF
Tel: +44 (0)1223 432384
Fax: +44 (0)1223 423623