RSC - Advancing the Chemical Sciences

Science Activities


Spiers Memorial Award

The Spiers Memorial Award is presented in recognition of an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the field of a Faraday Discussion.

Faraday Discussions are unique international discussion meetings which focus on rapidly developing areas of physical chemistry. There are six Discussion meetings each year. Each one is opened by an introductory lecturer who is encouraged to set the scene for the discussion.

The Spiers Memorial Award is presented once a year to one of the six introductory lecturers who is likely to provide the most stimulating and wide-ranging introduction to the discussion.

About the award

This award is to commemorate Frederick S Spiers, born 21 October 1875, best known for his work as Secretary of the Faraday Society, which he helped to found in 1902. 

During the first World War, he stimulated the formation of a Nitrogen Products Committee of the Faraday Society. As a result of the reports of this Committee, in part drafted by Mr Spiers, important researches were carried out by the Munitions Inventions Department. He also organised for the British Sciences Guild the successful exhibitions of British Science Products in 1917 and 1918. For his work in connection with the war he received the Order of the British Empire. 

Mr Spiers was keenly interested in all forms of applied arts and at one time was engaged in the production of decorative metal work by electrodeposition. The Gold Medal and Diploma of the Franco-British Exhibition held in 1908 was awarded for some of this work. When war broke out he devoted his work to munitions. He was also a keen talmudical scholar and his love for music amounted almost to a passion.  

Trans. Faraday Soc. , 1926, 22, 207
DOI: 10.1039/TF9262200207

Rules and Criteria

  • Run annually
  • Nominations can only be made by the Scientific Committees of the six Faraday Discussions in each year and nominees are the Introductory Lecturer from each Discussion
  • Award winner will be chosen by the Faraday Division Awards Committee
  • Award winner receives 2000, a medal and a certificate which will be presented at the conference dinner of the Faraday Discussion in which the winner is speaking

2013 Winner

Professor Joseph Wang

Spiers Memorial Award 2013 Winner

Professor Joseph Wang, Univeristy of California, San Diego

2012 Winner

Professor Daan Frenkel

Spiers Memorial Award 2012 Winner

Professor Daan Frenkel, University of Cambridge

2011 Winner

Professor Masatake Haruta

Spiers Memorial Award 2011 Winner

Masatake Haruta, Tokyo Metropolitan University, Tokyo

Also of interest

Previous winners

A list of previous recipients of the Spiers Memorial Award, previously called the Spiers Memorial Lectureship, and their lecture titles.

Faraday Discussions

Focusing on areas of physical chemistry: how the Discussion meetings work, past and future meetings

Faraday Discussions

Presenting original research papers and comments, originating from this world renowned series of meetings in physical chemistry, chemical physics and biophysical chemistry.