RSC Organic Division Poster Symposium 2015

30 November 2015 
Royal Society of Chemistry at Burlington House, London, UK

Congratulations to the winners of the 2015 RSC Organic Division Poster Symposium, which took place on 30 November 2015 at the Royal Society of Chemistry, Burlington House, London. 

The symposium, supported by our headline sponsor F. Hoffmann-La Roche Ltd, provided a fantastic opportunity for 40 final year organic chemistry PhD students to showcase their research and network with their peers, leading academics, and industrial chemists.

Professor Stuart Conway (University of Oxford), Chair of the organising committee, set the positive tone of the symposium by emphasising the importance of communicating scientific research, quoting the UK Government Chief Scientific Advisor, Sir Mark Walport who said "Science isn't complete until it's communicated".

Our judges, Professor Jonathan Clayden (University of Bristol), Professor Veronique Gouverneur (University of Oxford) and Dr David Rees (Astex Pharmaceuticals) were impressed with the high level of work on display and the enthusiasm of the students as they presented their posters. 

After some lengthy deliberations, the Judges awarded First Prize to Hiroki Wada, from Professor Christopher Moody's group at the University of Nottingham, for his work towards developing novel antibiotics with the total synthesis of plantazolicin A.

Second Prizes went to Keith Andrews from the University of Nottingham (poster title: Catalytic alkylation and trifluoroethylation of amines using carboxylic acids) and Giacomo Crisenza from the University of Bristol (poster title: Branch selective Ir-catalyzed hydroarylation of monosubstituted alkenes via a cooperative destabilization strategy).

The Industry Prize, chosen by delegates from industry, went to Joanne Sadler, from the University of Strathclyde and undertaking an industrial PhD at GSK in Stevenage, for her poster on the development and understanding of NovO as a biocatalyst for the Friedel-Crafts alkylation and fluoroalkylation.

Finally, all of the presenters were asked to vote for their favourite poster. The winner of the Participants' Prize was Jorge Gonzalez from the University of Edinburgh (poster title: MIDA boronate hydrolysis: A tale of two mechanisms).

Winners of the 2015 Prizes

© Royal Society of Chemistry / MPP Image Creation

Headline Sponsor 

We would like to thank F. Hoffmann-La Roche, Ltd. for their support of this event. 

Roche Logo


Astex Logo

AstraZeneca Logo

BP Logo

Domainex Logo

Evotec Logo

Johnson Matthey Logo

MedChemica Logo

Pfizer Logo


Syngenta Logo

Takeda logo

UCB Pharma Logo


Related Links

Link icon Roche Website
Find out more about F. Hoffmann-La Roche, Ltd

External links will open in a new browser window

Also of interest

Related Links


RSC Organic Division Poster Symposium 2014

01 December 2014, London

Organic Division poster symposium 2012 thumbnail

RSC Organic Division Poster Symposium 2012

03 December 2012, London

External links will open in a new browser window

Contact and Further Information

Royal Society of Chemistry, Thomas Graham House, Science Park, Milton Road, Cambridge CB4 0WF, UK
Tel: +44 (0) 1223 434048
Fax: +44 (0) 1223 423623

Royal Society of Chemistry, Thomas Graham House, Science Park, Milton Road, Cambridge CB4 0WF
Tel: 01223 420066