Phishing warning 01-May-2024
We are aware of phishing emails targeting speakers of events whose names appear on our events pages. If you are unsure if an email regarding event registration or accommodation has come from us please contact us and do not provide any credit card details or personal information

SMTG Annual Meeting: “Solving the electrolyte problem”

9 January 2019 12:00 - 11 January 2019 13:00, Manchester, United Kingdom

SMTG Annual Meeting: 
Solving the electrolyte problem
The Statistical Mechanics & Thermodynamics Group of the Royal Society of Chemistry would like to draw your attention to the group’s annual meeting titled “Solving the electrolyte problem” taking place in the University of Manchester, 9th-11th January 2019. This 3-day meeting will bring together experimental and modelling/theory groups to discuss industrial and academic challenges related to electrolytes solutions. 
Confirmed invited speakers:
Prof. Susan Perkin        | University of Oxford
Prof. Maximilian Kohns | Technische Universität Kaiserslautern
Dr. Thomas Lafitte         | Process Systems Enterprise
Dr Antonin Chapoy        | Heriot-Watt University
Contributed oral presentations (20 mins duration) and poster presentations are encouraged and will be selected by the organizing committee based on submitted abstracts.
The SMTG Young Scientist Award, a prize given biennially to an exceptional scientist in the early stages of their career, working broadly in the area of statistical mechanics and thermodynamics, will be awarded during the conference. The first recipient of this prize was Dr. John Russo from the University of Bristol. Closing date for nominations to the Young scientist Award is 28/09/18. Further information on the eligibility criteria can be found in:
Key Dates:
Call for abstracts opens                                        20th May 2018 
Abstract submission deadline                                28th September 2018
Registration deadline                                           31th October 2018
Conference starts                                                   9th January 2019 at noon
Conference closes                                                11th January 2019 at noon

Standard registration costs:
£160 for RSC member, £180 for non-member

Please use the available template to write your abstract and send it to with the subject "SMTG meeting 2019 Abstract"

EBL Suite, James Chadwick Building, University of Manchester, Booth Street East, Manchester, M13 9PL, United Kingdom
We look forward to seeing you there.
Dr. Carlos Avendaño (SMTG committee member and Local Organiser, University of Manchester)
Dr. Karl Travis (Chair of SMTG, University of Sheffield )
Prof. Fernando Bresme (Treasurer, SMTG, Imperial College London)
Dr. Manon Higgins-Bos (National Nuclear Laboratories)
Sponsorship & supporting organisations
The University of Manchester

EBL Suite, The University of Manchester, James Chadwick Building, University of Manchester, Booth Street East, Manchester, M13 9PL, United Kingdom

Organised by
Dr. Carlos Avendaño (SMTG committee member and Local Organiser, University of Manchester)
Dr. Karl Travis (Chair of SMTG, University of Sheffield and chair of the SMTG)
Prof. Fernando Bresme (Treasurer, SMTG, Imperial College Londonand treasurer of the SMTG)
Dr. Manon Higgins-Bos (National Nuclear Laboratory)
Contact information
Showing all upcoming events
Start Date
End Date
Subject area
Event type


E-mail Enquiry