3rd International Symposium on Anodizing Science & Technology

2 - 5 June 2019, Hyogo, Japan

The 3rd International Symposium on Anodizing Science and Technology (AST2019) which will be held in Awaji Island, Hyogo, Japan from 2 - 5 June 2019.

The 1st and 2nd symposia were successfully held in Rusutsu (AST2008) and Sapporo (AST2014), Hokkaido, Japan. AST2019 will provide an opportunity for scientists and engineers who are interested in anodizing science and technology to present their latest research results, to visit the beautiful island of Awaji, and to access the historic culture in Kansai area including Kyoto, Osaka, and Kobe.

Organized by the Anodizing Research Society (ARS), AST 2019 will be based on a plenary lecture, keynote and invited lectures, and contributed oral and poster presentations. The topics of interest include, but not limited to:
  • Fundamental understanding of growth of anodic oxides on various metals.
  • Structural and morphological control of anodic oxides.
  • Self-organization process of porous oxide films on metals.
  • Physical and chemical properties of anodic oxides.
  • Characterization of anodic oxide films.
  • Porous anodic oxide template for fabrication of nanomaterials.
  • Anodizing of semiconductors and its applications.
  • Surface treatments of Al, Mg and Ti using anodizing technique.
  • Functional applications of anodic oxides.
Sponsorship & supporting organisations
Awaji Yumebutai International Conference Center

Awaji Yumebutai International Conference Center, 1 Yumebutai, Awaji City, Hyogo, 656-2306, Japan

Organised by


Hiroki HABAZAKI (Hokkaido University, Japan)

Honorary Chair

Hideki MASUDA (Tokyo Metropolitan University, Japan)
Sachiko ONO (Kogakuin University, Japan)

Secretary General

Shinji YAE (University of Hyogo, Japan)

International Scientific Committee

  • Laurent ARURAULT (Universite Toulouse, France)
  • Ken EBIHARA (Nippon Light Metal Company, Ltd.)
  • Shinji FUJIMOTO (Osaka University, Japan)
  • Petra GRANITZER (Karl-Franzens-University Graz, Austria)
  • Hiroki HABAZAKI (Hokkaido University, Japan)
  • Achim W. HASSEL (Johannes Kepler University Linz, Austria)
  • Kurt R. HEBERT (Iowa State University, USA)
  • Hideki MASUDA (Tokyo Metropolitan University, Japan)
  • Sungmo MOON (Korean Institute of Materials Science, Korea)
  • Kuniaki MURASE (Kyoto University, Japan)
  • Kemal NISANCIOGLU (Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway)
  • Sachiko ONO (Kogakuin University, Japan)
  • Soo Gil PARK (Chungbuk National University, Korea)
  • Francesco di QUARTO (Palermo University, Italy)
  • Monica SANTAMARIA (Palermo University, Italy)
  • Kenichi SHIMIZU (Keio University, i-SEM Laboratory, Japan)
  • Patrik SCHMUKI (University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, Germany)
  • Hideaki TAKAHASHI (Nippon Chemi-Con Corporation, Japan)
  • Herman TERRYN (Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium)
  • Shinji YAE (University of Hyogo, Japan)
  • Xiaorong ZHOU (The University of Manchester, UK)

Local Organising Committee

  • Zenya ASHITAKA (Toyo Aluminium K.K.)
  • Takayoshi FUJINO (Kindai University)
  • Kazuhiro FUKAMI (Kyoto University)
  • Naoki FUKUMURO (University of Hyogo)
  • Makoto HINO (Hiroshima Institute of Technology)
  • Mitsunobu IWASAKI (Kindai University)
  • Damian KOWALSKI (Hokkaido University)
  • Ayumu MATSUMOTO (University of Hyogo)
  • Takashi MATSUNAMI (Okuno Chemical Industries Co., Ltd.)
  • Hiroaki TSUCHIYA (Osaka University)
  • Etsushi TSUJI (Tottori University)
  • Shinji YAE (University of Hyogo)

Contact information
Showing all upcoming events
Start Date
End Date
Subject area
Event type


E-mail Enquiry