ECAT2020 - International Symposium on Electrocatalysis

9 June 2020 08:30 - 11 June 2020 12:30, Trondheim, Norway


International Symposium on Electrocatalysis 2020
Advancing Renewable Energy for Clean Environment

Trondheim, Norway, 9-11 June 2020 


Prof. Frode Seland, Prof. Svein Sunde and Prof. Bruno G. Pollet

Symposium Objectives
ECAT2020 is an international symposium on electrocatalysis that aims to bring together scientists and engineers that are active in various topics related to the application of electrocatalysis in clean and environmentally friendly electrochemical technologies.

The conference will be held in Trondheim, Norway on June 9-11, 2020. Trondheim is the technology capital in Norway, hosting the largest university in Norway. Norway has a large electrochemical industry and research, primarily due to excess renewable hydro power.


Electrocatalysis - Photoelectrocatalysis - Sonoelectrocatalysis

The symposium invites you to submit abstract in all areas of electrocatalysis, including hydrogen and direct alcohol fuel cells, water electrolysis, batteries, carbon dioxide reduction, valorization of compounds (e.g. glycerol) and any other topics related to the application of electrocatalysis in clean and environmentally friendly electrochemical technologies.

Abstract Submission
The submissions to the conference should be a 500-word maximum, not exceeding ONE PAGE of text, references, tables and figures. Abstracts should be sent as attachments to using email subject line: "Submission to ECAT2020". NB! The abstract submission does not register you for the conference. All submissions will be either oral or poster presentations.

Important Dates:

Submission of Abstract

February 1, 2020 – April 1, 2020
Notification to Authors
April 17, 2020
Registration Deadline
April 29, 2020
Registration Fees
Regular: NOK 5,000 (before April 1), NOK 6,000 (April 2 – 29)
Students and Postdocs: NOK 4,000 (before April 1), NOK 5,000 (April 2 – 29)
Sponsorship & supporting organisations
NTNU Team Hydrogen
NTNU Energy
Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU)

R1 and R5 Hogskoleringen 5, Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU), NTNU, Gløshaugen Campus, Natural Science Building,, R1 and R5 Hogskoleringen 5, Trondheim, N-7491 , Norway

Organised by
Local Organizing Committee:

Frode Seland (NTNU)
Svein Sunde (NTNU)
Bruno G. Pollet (NTNU)
Debbie Koreman van den Bergh (NTNU)
Anne Lise Berg (NTNU)

International Steering and Advisory Board:

Gregory Jerkiewicz Queen's University, Canada
Christophe Coutanceau University of Poitiers, France
Michael Eikerling Simon Fraser University, Canada
Ludwig Kibler University of Ulm, Germany
Shigenori Mitsushima Yokohama National University, Japan
Germano Tremiliosi-Filho University of Sao Paulo, Brazil
Radoslav Adzic Brookhaven National Laboratory, USA
Plamen Atanassov University of New Mexico, USA
Helmut Baltruschat University of Bonn, Germany
Enrique Brillas University of Barcelona, Spain
Giuseppe A. Camara Federal University of Mato Grosso do Sul, Brazil
Julia van Drunen Metrohm Autolab, The Netherlands
K. Andreas Friedrich German Aerospace Center, Germany
Daniel Guay INRS, Canada
Hiroshi Inoue Osaka Prefecture University, Japan
Jens Oluf Jensen Technical University of Denmark (DTU), Denmark
Boniface Kokoh University of Poitiers, France
Cobus Kriek North-West University, South Africa
Petr Krtil Academy of Sciences, Czech Republic
Pawel Kulesza Warsaw University, Poland
Jaeyoung Lee Gwangju Institute of Science and Technology, South Korea
Frédéric Maillard Université de Savoie – Université Joseph Fourier, France
Aaron Marshall University of Canterbury, New Zealand
Maria Elisa Martins INIFTA, Universidad Nacional de la Plata, Argentina
Vijayamohanan K. Pillai Central Electrochemical Research Institute, India
Bruno G. Pollet Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway
Mauro Coelho Santos Federal University of ABC, Brazil
Minhua Shao The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong
Kazuhiko Shinohara FC Cubic, Japan
Manuel P. Soriaga California Institute of Technology, USA
Peter Strasser Technical University of Berlin, Germany
Wataru Sugimoto Shinshu University, Japan
Edson Ticianelli University of Sao Paulo, Brazil
YuYe Tong Georgetown University, US
David Wilkinson University of British Columbia, Canada
Piotr Zelenay Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA
Contact information
Showing all upcoming events
Start Date
End Date
Subject area
Event type


E-mail Enquiry