NT20: International Conference on the Science and Application of Nanotubes and Low-Dimensional Materials

31 May - 5 June 2020, Houston, TX, United States

The 21st International Conference on the Science and Application of Nanotubes and Low-Dimensional Materials (NT20) will be held on the Rice University campus from May 31 to June 5, 2020. Since its start in 1999, NT has been the premier international conference series on research into the science and technology of carbon nanotubes (CNTs) and related low-dimensional materials. NT is held annually, with sites rotating among continents in the order of Asia, Europe, and the Americas. We are looking forward to welcoming you and to your participation.


The conference will cover a broad range of topics of interest to the nanotube and low-dimensional materials communities.
  • Synthesis/Growth and Chemistry
  • Surface and Interfacial Phenomena
  • Physical and Chemical Properties
  • Devices and Applications

Satellite Program

In addition to the main conference to be held from Monday, June 1, through Friday, June 5, we will have seven satellite symposia on Sunday, May 31, from 9 am to 6 pm, which will be followed by the Welcome Reception.  With typical speaking times of 20 to 30 minutes, each symposium will be able to accommodate 12 to 18 speakers.  
The titles of the parallel symposia are:
  • 2nd Symposium on Synthesis, Purification, Functionalization, and Manufacturing of Carbon Nanotubes and Low-Dimensional Materials
  • 3rd Symposium on Nanocarbon Materials for Energy and Sustainability
  • 8th Symposium on Carbon Nanotube Macromaterials (Thin Films, Fibers, 3-D) and Their Electronic, Thermal, and Structural Properties
  • 11th Symposium on Carbon Nanomaterials Biology, Medicine and Toxicology
  • 11th Graphene and 2D Materials Symposium
  • 14th Symposium on Nanotube Spectroscopy, Photonics, and Applications in Metrology
  • 15th Symposium on Computational Challenges in Nanotubes, 2-D Materials, and Their Macroscopic Assemblies


  • To identify opportunities for academically rewarding and technologically relevant research directions.
  • To provide a platform for informal exchange of research-outcomes and visions in a stimulating environment.
  • To engage innovators from academia and industry, allowing them to share their ideas and to connect with future leaders of the field.
  • The interaction with young research talent has therefore been essential to all of the NT meetings and will remain a major focus.
Rice University

Shell Auditorium of McNair Hall, Rice University, 6100 Main St, Houston, TX, 77005, United States

Organised by

Organizing Committee

Matteo Pasquali, Chair, Rice University
Junichiro Kono, Co-Chair, Rice University
R. Bruce Weisman, Co-Chair, Rice University
Program Chair
William D. Rice, University of Wyoming
Local Organizing Committee Members
Weilu Gao, Lightmatter
Daniel Heller, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
Glen Irvin, Rice University
Angel Marti, Rice University
Anton Naumov, Texas Christian University
Thomas A. Searles, Howard University
Ginny Whitaker, Rice University
James Hayward, Rice University
Carolina Avendano, Rice University

Steering Committee

Annick Loiseau, ONERA-CNRS, France
Shigeo Maruyama, University of Tokyo, Japan
Tobias Hertel, University of Würzburg, Germany
Ado Jorio, University of Minas Gerais, Brazil
Esko Kauppinen, University of Aalto, Finland
Yan Li, Peking University, Peking, China
Ming Zheng, NIST, U.S.A.
Masako Yudasaka, AIST, Japan
Jing Kong, MIT, U.S.A.
Honorary Member
David Tomanek, Michigan State University, U.S.A.

Advisory Board

Michael S. Arnold, University of Wisconsin-Madison, U.S.A.
Seunghyun Baik, Sungkyunkwan University, Korea
Christophe Bichara, CINAM, CNRS, France
Laurent Cognet, LP2N, CNRS, France
James Elliott, University of Cambridge, U.K.
Tobias Hertel, University of Wuerzburg, Germany
Hiromichi Kataura, AIST, Japan
Junichiro Kono, Rice University, U.S.A.
Qingwen Li, SINANO, CAS, China
Chang Liu, IMR, CAS, China
Kazunari Matsuda, Kyoto University, Japan
Janina Maultzsch, FAU Erlangen-Nürnberg, Germany
Albert Nasibulin, Skoltech, Russia
Suguru Noda, Waseda University, Japan
Matteo Pasquali, Rice University
Lianmao Peng, Peking University, China
Stephanie Reich, Freie Universität Berlin, Germany
Lara Kühl Teles, Aeronautics Institute of Technology, Brazil
Yuhuang Wang, University of Maryland, U.S.A.
Contact information
Showing all upcoming events
Start Date
End Date
Subject area
Event type


E-mail Enquiry