Malcolm Campbell Memorial Award

The Malcolm Campbell Memorial Award is awarded biennially by the RSC BMCS to commemorate Professor Campbell's outstanding contributions in a broad range of chemistry and their applications to the understanding of bioactivity.

The award comprises £2000 and a medal as well as one free attendance at an RSC BMCS conference in the year of the award.

Malcolm Campbell Memorial Award 2017

Malcolm Campbell Award Announcement – Osimertinib Team

The Royal Society of Chemistry Biological and Medicinal Chemistry Sector is proud to announce the winners of the Malcolm Campbell Memorial Prize for 2017.
The prize has been awarded to Sam Butterworth, Darren Cross, Ray Finlay, Richard A. Ward and Michael J. Waring for contributions to the team that discovered TAGRISSO(TM) (osimertinib, AZD9291) at AstraZeneca.

Osimertinib, a potent, oral, CNS-active, irreversible epidermal growth factor receptor (EGFR) inhibitor that was developed specifically for the treatment of patients with T790M mutation positive NSCLC, has demonstrated significant clinically meaningful improvement in efficacy compared to standard of care chemotherapy in these patients, with fewer serious adverse events.  In record time, just 2 years and 9 months after the first patient was dosed, osimertinib was provisionally approved for patients whose tumours have a specific epidermal growth factor receptor (EGFR) mutation (T790M) and whose disease has progressed due to resistance to other EGFR-blocking therapy.

The BMCS Committee wishes to express its gratitude for the high-quality entries from both academia and industry for the 2017 award.

Recipients of the Malcolm Campbell Award 2017

Recipients of the Malcolm Campbell Award 2017


  • Submissions are invited from individuals or teams in industry and academia with a British research centre mailing address although work may be from several worldwide groups.
  • Seminal publications which may include presentations in the public domain and/or patents from the submitting individual or team relating to work of biological and/or medicinal chemistry interest including discovery, process development, agrochemical and aromachemical research.
  • Submissions may be a culmination of a series of papers published in recent years prior to the award.
  • Submissions must be accompanied by written permission from Heads of Department or Managers for the release of the work details.
  • All submissions should be sent to the Conference Secretariat  (preferably by email with attachments in Word format)

Previous Winners of the Malcolm Campbell Award

Miles Congreve, Fiona Marshall and Malcom Weir
GPCR drug discovery

BrilintaTM/BriliqueTM  Team
Development of  BrilintaTM/BriliqueTM

Paul O’Neill, Kevin Park and Stephen Ward
University of Liverpool
Research and Development of Anti-Malaria Agents

Lawrence Woo and Barry Potter
University of Bath
Atul Purohit and Michael Reed
Imperial College, London
Discovery of Steroid Sulfatase Inhibitors

Jonathan Bennett, Anton Bom, Alan Muir, Ronald Palin, David Rees and Ming Zhang
Development of Sugammadex

David O’Hagan
University of St Andrews
Research on Fluorinating Enzymes

Tony Wood
Development of CCR5 Antagonists 

Malcolm Stevens, Andrew Westwell & Tracy Bradshaw
Cancer Research UK
Discovery of the Anticancer Compound Fortress & Related Work

§ Joint winners

A history of the award is available to download.

Downloadable Files

Malcolm Campbell Award Winners
Find out more information Malcolm Campbell Award Winners
PDF iconPDF (204k)  

A History of the Malcolm Cambell Award
Rewarding Excellence in Biological Chemistry” Med. Chem. Commun., 2012,3, 525-527
PDF iconPDF (120k)  

PDF files require Link icon Adobe Acrobat Reader

Contact and Further Information

Maggi Churchouse
Conference Secretariat
3 East Barn, Market Weston Road, Thelnetham, Diss IP22 1JJ
Tel: 01359 221004