Electrochemistry Awards

The Electrochemistry Group awards two medals and a PhD student award for outstanding achievements in electrochemical sciences. These are all presented at the annual Electrochem conferences and highlighted with a plenary lecture.

Sheelagh Campbell Award

The Sheelagh Campbell Award is presented to a PhD student who has not submitted their thesis by the award deadline studying in the UK or Ireland for excellence in research.

Sheelagh Campbell Award

Further information about the application procedure.

The Faraday Medal

The Faraday Medal is awarded to an outstanding mid-career researcher from outside of the UK and Ireland.

The Faraday Medal - Further Information

Past Winners

The Geoffrey Barker Medal

The Geoffrey Barker Medal is awarded for outstanding contributions made by a mid-career researcher in the UK and Ireland.


Geoffrey Barker Medal - Further Information

Past Winners

Selection Procedures

The RSC Electrochemistry Group requests nominations for these awards in order to highlight excellence and to improve the profile of annual meetings in the UK.

Selection procedures

  1. Names of the selection committee members will be in the public domain before the nomination process begins. The committee will be composed of the Electrochemistry interest group chairman (3 years) and 4 additional members (with a 3 years rota). Selection committee members will be from institutions other than those of the nominees.
  2. Equal opportunities for all will be ensured and active committee members are excluded from being nominated.
  3. Short-listing (by the selection committee) will be completed before the selection meeting when > 2 nominations are received per award.

Contact and Further Information

Dr Mark Symes MRSC
Secretary 2017 - 2020
University of Glasgow
Tel: +44 141 330 4416