Fluorine Chemistry Award

Nominations are now invited from the international Fluorine Chemistry community for candidates for the RSC Fluorine Prize for 2015. The Award, which is awarded once every two years, is associated with the RSC Fluorine Subject Group.

The RSC Fluorine Prize is generously sponsored by JRD Fluorochemicals Ltd.

The Fluorine Prize is a fully international award which is not restricted to members of the RSC. The Prize will recognise the most meritorious contribution of a younger chemist, working in any area of fluorine chemistry, as evinced by their published contribution. The Prize will be judged by an independent international panel on behalf of the RSC Fluorine Subject Group. 

Previous winners of the RSC Fluorine Chemistry Prize

  • 2013: Professor Tobias Ritter, Harvard, USA
  • 2011: Professor Melanie Sanford, Michigan, USA 
  • 2009: Professor Jinbo Hu, Shanghai, China 
  • 2007: Professor Thomas Braun, Berlin, Germany 
  • 2005: Professor Norio Shibata, Nagoya, Japan     

Nominations are invited on behalf of applicants who must be under the age of 40 by the submission deadline of 31 December 2014.

The Prize will consist of an award of £500 and the winner will be invited to give a lecture at the RSC Fluorine Subject Group, Postgraduate Meeting.

How to apply

Applicants must be nominated and should not make applications on their own behalf. 

Nominators should only send a covering letter, a Curriculum Vitae (CV) and a full publication list to Professor Graham Sandford, Chairman, details below. 

The deadline of 31 December 2014 will be adhered to strictly.

Nominations to:

Dr G Sandford CChem MRSC
Department of Chemistry, Durham University, Durham, DH1 3LE, UK

Related Links

Link icon JRD Fluorochemicals Ltd
Sponsor of the RSC Fluorine Award

External links will open in a new browser window