Beilby Medal and Prize

The Beilby Medal and Prize recognises work of exceptional practical significance in chemical engineering, applied materials science, energy efficiency or a related field.

2014 Winner

Professor Javier Pérez-Ramírez

Beilby Medal and Prize 2014 Winner

Professor Javier Pérez-Ramírez, ETH Zurich

General information

  • Run annually 
  • The winner receives £1000, a medal and a certificate
  • The award is administered in rotation by the Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining (IOM3), the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) and the Society of Chemical Industry (SCI)        

Society of Chemical Industry        IOM3 logo

Guidelines for Nominators

  • Nominations open on 01 September 2014
  • Nominations close on 15 January 2015
  • Both RSC members and non-RSC members can nominate for this award
  • Candidates are permitted to nominate themselves
  • The award is open to candidates based in the UK and internationally
  • Candidates should be 39 years old or below on 31 January 2015. The age specified is intended to guide nominators and selection panelists; appropriate consideration will be given to those who have taken career breaks or followed different study paths
  • When nominating recent Award and Prize winners, please remember that a person cannot be rewarded again for work that has already been recognised by any of the awarding bodies.          

To make a nomination please use our online awards nominations system at the bottom of the page to submit the following:

  • Your name, contact details, and membership number (please contact the RSC Membership team if you do not know your membership details)
  • The candidate's name and contact details 
  • An up to date CV for the candidate (no longer than one A4 side, 11pt text) which should include their date of birth, summary of education and career, a list of 5 relevant publications, total numbers of publications and patents (if appropriate) and website URL if relevant
  • A supporting statement (no longer than one A4 side, 11pt text) addressing the selection criteria 
  • A short citation describing what the nominee should be awarded for. This must be no longer than 250 characters (not including spaces) and ideally no longer than one sentence 
  • The names and contact details of two referees. Please inform referees of the nomination as the awards system will contact them as soon as the application is submitted.
  • Referees must provide reports by 31 January
  • We will contact nominators and referees of candidates with outstanding references one week after close of nominations on 15 January once only.  

Selection Criteria for RSC Awards

The selection committee(s) will consider the following aspects of all nominations for scientific research Awards as appropriate:

  • Originality of research
  • Impact of research
  • Quality of publications and/or patents and/or software
  • Innovation
  • Professional standing
  • Collaborations and teamwork
  • Other indicators of esteem indicated by the nominee/nominator     

Guidelines for Referees

  • The awards system will contact referees to inform them that they must provide reports by 31 January.
  • We will contact nominators and referees of candidates with outstanding references after one week after close of nominations on 15 January once only.
  • Referees must state their relationship (if any) with the candidate and note any conflicts of interest. 

Previous Winners

Beilby Medal and Prize Winners

1930 - Present

History of the Award

Sir George Beilby
The Beilby medal, awarded by the Royal Society of Chemistry, Society of Chemical Industry and the Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining, is a memorial to Sir George Thomas Beilby, President of all three bodies, or their predecessors. Founded after his death in 1924, the first recipients of the Beilby Medal in 1930 were Guy Dunstan Bengough and Ulick Richardson Evans.

Beilby was born in 1850 and studied at Edinburgh University. He went on to join the Oakbank Oil Company in 1869, where he began to tackle problems of poor fuel economy.  In collaboration with William Young, he improved the yield of oil and ammonia from shale by improving the fractional distillation process. Through his work in this field, Beilby was asked to contribute to the Royal Commission on Coal Supplies in 1903, and later was elected as Chairman of the newly established Fuel Research Board in 1917. He built the Fuel Research Station in East Greenwich to study different coals and problems such as low temperature carbonisation.

As well as contributing substantially to improving fuel economy, Beilby was also director of the Cassel Cyanide Company and Caster-Kellner Alkali Company, patented an improved method for producing hydrogen cyanide and made contributions to the field of metallurgy.

His contributions led to his election as a Fellow of the Royal Society in 1906, a knighthood in 1916, and the receipt of several honorary degrees.   

Make a Nomination

Related Links

Link icon Submit your nomination online
Deadline for nominations 15 January 2015. Your nomination can be saved and completed at any time

External links will open in a new browser window

Contact and Further Information

Royal Society of Chemistry, Thomas Graham House, Milton Road, Science Park, Cambridge, CB4 0WF
Tel: +44 (0)1223 432384
Fax: +44 (0)1223 423623