RSC - Advancing the Chemical Sciences

Science Activities


Centenary Prizes

The Centenary Prizes are awarded to outstanding chemists, who are also exceptional communicators, from overseas to give lectures in the British Isles.

2013 Winners

Professor Chi-Ming Che

Centenary Prize 2013 Winner

Professor Chi-Ming Che, The University of Hong Kong

Professor Robert Crabtree

Centenary Prize 2013 Winner

Professor Robert Crabtree, Yale University

Professor Richard Silverman

Centenary Prize 2013 Winner

Professor Richard Silverman, Northwestern University

Rules & Criteria

  • Run annually
  • Up to three prizes are available
  • Candidates should be working overseas, not in the United Kingdom
  • Candidates may NOT nominate themselves
  • One page CV for the candidate, which should include the details listed in the Information for Nominators of Prizes, which can be viewed through the link on this page 
  • A two page supporting statement addressing the selection criteria (selection criteria can be viewed through the link on this page) 
  • Nominations open on 1 September 2013
  • Nominations close on 15 January 2014
  • Prize winners are chosen by the RSC Awards Working Group
  • Winners receive 5000, a medal and certificate           

About the prize

The Centenary prize was founded in 1947 to commemorate the centenary of the Chemical Society in 1841.

In 1980, the Chemical Society and the Royal Institute of Chemistry, together with the Faraday Society and the Society for Analytical Chemistry, became the Royal Society of Chemistry.

Previous Winners

Previous winners

A list of previous recipients of the Centenary Prizes, which were formerly known as the Centenary Lectureships.

Nomination Information

Make a Nomination

The nominations for 2014 will close on 15 January 2014

Guidelines for Nominators of Prizes

Includes nomination requirements, selection procedure and timeframe information on making a nomination for an RSC Prize