Chemical Dynamics Award

The Chemical Dynamics Award is for outstanding innovative research on the dynamics of molecules, including spectroscopy, kinetics or molecular interactions in the gas, liquid or solid phase.

2018 Winner

Professor Klaas Wynne

2018 Chemical Dynamics Award Winner

Professor Klaas Wynne, University of Glasgow

General information

  • Run annually
  • The winner receives £2000, a medal and a certificate
  • The winner will undertake a UK lecture tour                 
  • The winner will be chosen by the Faraday Division Awards Committee 

Guidelines for Nominators

  • Nominations open on 01 October
  • Nominations close on 15 January
  • Only RSC Members can nominate for this award
  • Nominees may NOT nominate themselves
  • This award is open to nominees based in the UK or internationally
  • Nominees should be 55 or under on 31 January. Consideration will also be given to those who have taken career breaks or followed different study paths
  • Work completed in the last 10 years will be given particular consideration
  • When nominating previous RSC Prize and Award winners, please remember that a person cannot be awarded twice for substantially the same body of work       

To make a nomination please use our online awards nominations system  to submit the following:

  • Your name, contact details, and membership number (please contact the RSC Membership team if you do not know your membership details)
  • The nominee's name and contact details 
  • An up to date CV for the nominee (no longer than one A4 side, 11pt text) which should include their date of birth, summary of education and career, a list of 5 relevant publications, total numbers of publications and patents (if appropriate) and website URL if relevant
  • A supporting statement (up to 4500 characters, not including spaces) addressing the selection criteria
  • A short citation describing what the nominee should be awarded for. This must be no longer than 250 characters (not including spaces) and ideally no longer than one sentence 
  • References are not required for this award and will not be accepted

Selection Criteria for RSC Awards

Our selection committees base their evaluations primarily on the overall quality of relevant contributions made by nominees and not simply on quantitative measures.

The selection committee(s) will consider the following aspects of all nominations for scientific research Awards as appropriate:

  • Originality of research
  • Impact of research
  • Quality of publications and/or patents and/or software
  • Innovation
  • Professional standing
  • Collaborations and teamwork
  • Other indicators of esteem indicated by the nominee/nominator   

Faraday Division Awards Committee

  • Eleanor Campbell (Chair), University of Edinburgh
  • Józef Lewandowski, University of Warwick
  • Nguyen TK Thanh, University College London
  • Peter Bruce, University of Oxford
  • Dr Steven Lee, University of Cambridge
  • Professor Julia Weinstein, University of Sheffield
  • Professor Maciej Gutowski, Heriot-Watt University    

Previous Winners

Chemical Dynamics Award Previous Winners

1993 - present

History of the Award

The RSC Chemical Dynamics Award was established in 1993.

Contact and Further Information

Royal Society of Chemistry, Thomas Graham House, Cambridge Science Park, Milton Road, Cambridge, CB4 0WF
Tel: +44 (0)1223 420066