RSC - Advancing the Chemical Sciences

Science Activities


Corday-Morgan Prizes

The Corday-Morgan Prizes are awarded for the most meritorious contributions to chemistry.

2013 Winners

Professor Matthew Gaunt

Corday-Morgan Prize 2013 Winner

Professor Matthew Gaunt, University of Cambridge

Dr Martin Heeney

Corday-Morgan Prize 2013 Winner

Dr Martin Heeney, Imperial College London

Professor Jonathan Reid

Corday-Morgan Prize 2013 Winner

Professor Jonathan Reid, University of Bristol

Rules & Criteria

  • Run annually
  • Up to three prizes are available
  • Candidates should be 40 years of age or below at the closing date.  The age specified is intended to guide nominators and selection panelists; appropriate consideration will be given to those who have taken career breaks or followed different study paths.   
  • Candidates may NOT nominate themselves 
  • Candidates should be working in the UK
  • One page CV for the candidate which should include their date of birth, website URL, summary of education and career, a list of 5 relevant publications, total numbers of publications and patents
  • A one page supporting statement addressing the selection criteria
  • Name and contact details of two referees required should be provided by the nominator. After RSC office has acknowledged receipt of the nomination, the nominator is responsible for informing the two referees that they must provide reports by 31 January. RSC will contact nominators and referees of candidates with outstanding references one week after close of nominations on 15 January once only. Referees may not include people at the same institution as the candidate or the candidate's post-doc or PhD supervisor
  • Winners receive 5000, a medal and a certificate
  • Nominations open on 1 September 2013
  • Nominations close on 15 January 2014
  • Prize winners are chosen by the RSC Awards Working Group           

About the prize

The Corday-Morgan Prize was established in 1949 after the death of Sir Gilbert Morgan in 1940. The first recipient was Sir Derek Barton.

Previous Winners

Previous winners

A list of previous recipients of the Corday-Morgan Prize, which was formerly called the Corday-Morgan Medal and Prize.

Nomination Information

Make a Nomination

The nominations for 2014 will close on 15 January 2014

Guidelines for Nominators of Prizes

Includes nomination requirements, selection procedure and timeframe information on making a nomination for an RSC Prize