Education Award

The Education Award recognises a major high level contribution to education in the chemical sciences, over a sustained period of time.

2016 Winner

Dr Georgios Tsaparlis

Education Award 2016 Winner

Dr Georgios Tsaparlis, University of Ioannina

General information

  • Run biennially - OPEN for 2018 nominations 
  • The winner receives 2000, a medal and a certificate 
  • The winner will complete a UK lecture tour
  • The winner will be chosen by the Education Division Awards Committee   

Guidelines for Nominators

  • Nominations open on 01 October
  • Nominations close on 15 January 
  • Only RSC Members can nominate for this award
  • Nominees may NOT nominate themselves
  • The award is open to nominees based in the UK or internationally
  • There are no age restrictions associated with this award
  • When nominating previous RSC prize or award winners, please remember that a person cannot be awarded twice for substantially the same body of work

To make a nomination please use our online awards nominations system to submit the following:

  • Your name, contact details, and membership number (please contact the RSC Membership team if you do not know your membership details)
  • The nominee's name and contact details 
  • An up to date CV for the nominee (no longer than one A4 side, 11pt text) which should include their date of birth, summary of education and career, breadth of teaching experience and relevant publications (if applicable) 
  • A supporting statement (up to 4500 characters, not including spaces) addressing the selection criteria
  • A short citation describing what the nominee should be awarded for. This must be no longer than 250 characters (not including spaces) and ideally no longer than one sentence
  • References are not required for this award and will not be accepted

Selection Criteria for RSC Awards

Our selection committees base their evaluations primarily on the overall quality of relevant contributions made by nominees and not simply on quantitative measures.

The selection committee(s) will consider the following aspects of all nominations for scientific research Awards as appropriate:

  • Originality of research
  • Impact of research
  • Quality of publications and/or patents and/or software
  • Innovation
  • Professional standing
  • Collaborations and teamwork
  • Other indicators of esteem indicated by the nominee/nominator   

Education Division Awards Committee

  • Simon Lancaster, University of East Anglia (Chair)    
  • Sheila Donegan, Waterford Institute of Technology
  • Karon Buck, Medway University Technical College
  • Kristy Turner, Bolton School & University of Manchester
  • Suzanne Fergus, University of Hertfordshire
  • Alan Philcox, University College London

Previous Winners

Education Award Previous Winners

2008 - present

History of the Award

The RSC Education Award was established in 2008. 

Submit your nomination

Related Links

Link icon Submit your nomination online
Deadline for nominations is 15 January 2018. Your nomination can be saved and completed at any time.

External links will open in a new browser window

Contact and Further Information

Royal Society of Chemistry, Thomas Graham House, Cambridge Science Park, Milton Road, Cambridge, CB4 0WF
Tel: +44 (0)1223 420066