Chemistry World Entrepreneur of the Year

This award is given to individuals who demonstrated creativity and vision, driving chemistry innovation to commercial success for their business.

2014 Winner

Professor Brown

Chemistry World Entrepreneur of the Year Award 2014 Winner

Professor Tom Brown, University of Oxford

General information

  • Runs annually
  • The winner receives a cash prize of 4000.
  • The award winner will be featured in Chemistry World,  the Royal Society of Chemistry's flagship magazine (circulation 49,000+ copies in print). 
  • The winner will be chosen by an independent expert selection panel.                  

Guidelines for nominators

  • Nominations open on 01 September 2014 and close on 15 January 2015.
  • Only RSC Members can nominate 
  • Candidates may NOT nominate themselves 
  • Individuals working in chemical science industry or academia can be nominated  
  • Open worldwide              

To make a nomination please use our online awards nominations system at the bottom of the page. Please make sure you have your RSC membership number to hand before accessing the online system.

During the application process you will be asked to provide:

  • A supporting statement including:
    • Introduction of entrepreneur and the business - describe the business and the nominee's current position and responsibilities in the business.  
    • Success and challenges to date - describe the entrepreneurial story, including the risks, obstacles overcome.
    • Innovation and creativity - describe the products and services which differentiate the business from competitors. 
    • Growth potential and financial performance - describe succinctly the growth strategy and whether the business generated any revenue or profit in the last three years  
  • One page CV of the candidate,  which should include a summary of education and career. 

There is no requirement for detailed technical or commercial data. Sufficient information to enable the assessors to compare submissions that are likely to be vastly different from each other. 

When you nominate, please remember that a person cannot be rewarded twice for the same body of work (applies to previous Royal Society of Chemistry winners). 

Selection criteria

The assessment panel will employ the following criteria (where appropriate):

  • Applicants should have established or contributed to the growth of a chemical science business
  • Should demonstrate innovation and have clear indications of commercial promise  and impact
  • Brought new products to market within the last three years 
  • Have evidence of established market share and revenue earned within the last three years 
  • Showed resilience

Selection panel

  • Dr Bryan Hanley, The Knowledge Transfer Network (Chair) 
  • Dr Riaz Choudhery, Akzonobel 
  • Professor Jim Darwent, University of Liverpool 
  • Dr David Sadler, Syngenta 
  • Mr Allan Malcolm, Pepceuticals 

Make a nomination

Submit your nomination via the link below.

Related Links

Link icon Submit your nomination online
Deadline for nominations 15 January 2015. Your nomination can be saved and completed at any time

External links will open in a new browser window

Previous Winners

Chemistry World Entrepreneur of the Year Award 2013 Winner

Professor Chad Mirkin, Northwestern University, USA

Chemistry World Entrepreneur of the Year Award 2012 Winner

Professor Paul Workman, The Institute of Cancer Research

Chemistry World Entrepreneur of the Year Award 2011 Winner

Professor Karl S Coleman, Applied Graphene Materials

Contact and Further Information

Royal Society of Chemistry, Thomas Graham House, Cambridge Science Park, Milton Road, Cambridge, CB4 0WF
Tel: +44 (0)1223 420066
Fax: +44 (0)1223 432359